Why Pages is a good idea for students

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Scartissue, Feb 17, 2009.

1. Scartissue macrumors member

Etc etc here's a review etc etc as good as Word 08 etc etc pro-apple steve jobs fellation etc blah.

------

Brief pages justification

I just ordered iWork 09. Partially, when there’s a student discount applied, £35 just can’t be disagreed with. More importantly, as a student, after using the trial for a month, I don’t really want to go back.

I’m a humanities university student (Philosophy, if you care!), so my needs are words. No presentations, although I think keynote has enough of a reputation there that anyone can expect it to outperform Powerpoint/etc.

My weekly output is 2 2000 word essays, plus about 4000 words of notes. So, yeah, however many pages that is. Probably far too many. Attempting to write this by hand would, unsurprisingly, leave me with offensively calloused hot-dogs for fingers, so, word processor! Not ‘Numbers’; I’m justifying my purchase of iWork off the back of Pages 09 alone.

First argument; ‘I can do everything in Pages that I can in Word.' This always strikes me as a bit weak, but here we go... I’ll be honest, I struggle to articulate exactly what a ‘high end’ feature of Word would be. Regardless, this is what I can do in Pages that I know I’ve been doing in Word.

Typing (always a good start)
    Changing font-sizes up and down
    Bullet pointing
    Indenting Text
    Bold/Italics
    Headers and footers
    Footnotes
    Inserting images
    General formatting
    Spellchecking
    Word-counting
    Save as .doc

Can I stop now?

There are other features that Pages has (“Like, obv.”). However, they don’t affect me, and I imagine won’t affect the student in my situation; that is, ‘I write essays, and nothing else.'