Why popularity of programming languages keep changing?

hajime

macrumors 603
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
Hello, in the past C was the main language. If one knew C, one could get a job. Then, the main language became C++. Next, Java. Now, Python. Why so man languages and popularity keeps changing? Can C/C++ do all the things we need?

Tomorrow

macrumors 604
Mar 2, 2008
Always a day away
I'm no programmer, but...

If C and C++ had the same capabilities, costs, learning curve, etc., then there would have been no need to develop C++, or have anybody learn it. Same with all the other languages.

Each new language either adds utility, decreases costs, or lowers boundaries to entry. Otherwise, it doesn't catch on.

Reactions: D.T.

Tech198

macrumors G5
Mar 21, 2011
Australia, Perth
Visual Basic and .NET? leaning curve is not even comparable if u want a true optimized experience... While the two can co-exsist, the lessor will sacrifice on performance or native speed. I don't believe any mixed code can be just as fast as 'native' code programmed.

And the learning curve of VB.NET is not exactly easy if you've been living with VB all your life.

Once you get the hang of it, it 'seems' easy, but any programming or moving to new language will be "This is too hard"

hawkeye_a

macrumors 65816
Jun 27, 2016
In college all I did was C/C++, in the real world every other job advertized at the time was for .Net or Java, and now, everything is Javascript/HTML5 with whatever the flavor-of-the-month-library might be (Backbone/React/Angular/etc).

Why has it changed? C/C++ was for locally compiled binaries(least 'portable'), .Net came about roughly when client-server apps were gaining popularity. And now, HTML5 seems to be catering to "heavy" client side apps(most 'portable').