Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Variables

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 31, 2010
I own a high-end gaming desktop PC, but am looking for a new notebook for University. I have zero experience with Mac OS X and have never owned a Mac.

I'm looking for some reasons to convince me that purchasing a MacBook Pro is a good idea. Generally, I'll be using the notebook for schoolwork, but I'd also like it to be able to play Starcraft II competently. I'm looking at the i5 or i7 15'' models.

So, why should I switch from PC to Mac, any good reasons? :)

electricmagic

macrumors newbie
Aug 30, 2010
I just made the switch myself and couldn't be happier. I have the 13" dual core 2.4 ghz MBP, it runs like a champ all the time. I was skeptical of the dual core, but it never slows down even with multiple applications (Programs, as they are called in windows) running. I play Starcraft 2 as well, looks good on OS X, though I hear it runs even better in Bootcamp. Looks good enough for me though to not go through the trouble of running Bootcamp. I also love the portability of it, the battery lasts forever, though I plug mine in when I play SC2. The keyboard light is badass too, using it right now haha because its dark in here. The system stays dead quiet when doing normal stuff and with multiple applications running. The fans start up when playing SC2 but never become too loud, never as loud as any windows notebooks I've heard. The i5 or i7 will run even smoother and SC2 could probably look even better when running on OS X.
The one driving factor for me was the processor, I really wanted on i5 but couldn't afford the MBP i5, so I was almost going to buy a Windows ASUS i5, but I am extremely pleased with my 13" dual core MBP.

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard versus Windows 6.1 Seven