Why shouldn't I buy this IMac 27"? thanks

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Carlsbad Rich, Jul 1, 2016.

  1. Carlsbad Rich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #1
    Lurker - first post, appreciate expert input, new to Mac after yrs. in windows world, wish I would have switched sooner...

    small office 6+ hours a day - light photoshop, lots of browser windows, google earth pro, acrobat, small excel and word files - quick books on remote 1-7 dell xps.

    • MK472LL/A for $1,749 new, don't want to pay "$1,999" and can't wait for fall.
    I think it's "enough" computer at the right price???

    $1,999
    - Retina 5K 5120 x 2880 P3 display, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, AMD Radeon R9 M390 with 2GB video memory.
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    The only problem with those specs is the 1 TB Fusion drive because it provides only a tiny 24 GB of SSD space. If you can find a good deal on the 2 TB+128 GB Fusion drive or 256 GB SSD take that instead. Even so, the price is fairly decent.
     
  3. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #3
  4. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #4
    The newer 27" iMac with 256GB SSD goes for $1,949, refurbished. Pick up another 8–16GB of ram and you're set. (Assuming you don't need more storage.) That's the same price as the computer with 2 TB fusion drive.
     
  5. Carlsbad Rich thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #5
    Thanks All!!! Confirms what Iearned reading threads here....

    Im kinda budget limited to the $1,750, including in the fall (need it NOW)

    Understand SSD concern - read this thread - do you think the Samsung T- 3 portable 256 ssd may be a workaround?



    Appreciate it....
     
  6. Carlsbad Rich thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #7
  7. ivanwi11iams Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Only thing I'd add is this. I've tested a Samsung SSD via USB 3.0 and running the OS. It runs fine. An option would be to buy the cheaper model, add more memory yourself, cheaper. Then use an app to clone the drive and load that clone onto an external 3.0 USB SSD.
     

Share This Page