Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stimpycat

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 2, 2007
Hi, I haven't come to start a huge war on what is best a PC or Mac - infact I am desperate to make the leap but I can't seem to justify the £1700 price tag of the MacPro which is the only single thing stopping me from making the leap.

Apart from the base price, the cost of upgrading seems ridiculously overinflated - to go from a 1GB to 2GB set-up it's an extra £190! The same upgrade for a DELL would be under £50.

Likewise to jump up to a 500GB hard drive your talking an extra £210 to Apple, but the same for a DELL is under £150.

Is there a reason for this?

PS: I am a graphic designer who runs CS3 all day every day pretty intensively and often working with large print files - could I get away with an iMac? Is it only video people who need this expensive computer?

pknz

macrumors 68020
Mar 22, 2005
NZ
You don't have to buy upgrades through Apple, hard drives and RAM can be bought from 3rd parties.

bartelby

macrumors Core
Jun 16, 2004
Get the RAM and bigger drive from a 3rd party.

Similarly specc'd machiines from Dell and Apple are not enormously different in price.

Igantius

macrumors 65816
Apr 29, 2007
PS: I am a graphic designer who runs CS3 all day every day pretty intensively and often working with large print files - could I get away with an iMac? Is it only video people who need this expensive computer?
Yes, you could get away with an iMac and I know more than a few who do - but I would check out a few reviews and benchmarks.

Quite a few publications aimed at creative pros have said that the iMacs offer an awful bang for your buck; e.g. Computers Arts in its review of the 24" iMac said it was pretty d. nifty.

As bartelby, similar specced machines are in the same ballpark in terms of price - some articles have suggested that Dell can be more expensive.

anti-microsoft

macrumors 68000