Why so many backups here?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jamin00, Mar 22, 2014.

  1. jamin00 macrumors 6502a

    jamin00

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Essex, UK.
    #1
    See the pic.

    I've never used this drive for my Time Machine so why so much taken on backups?

    Can I delete them and if so how and where??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. themumu macrumors 6502a

    themumu

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Sunnyvale
    #2
    Your primary drive is used by Time Machine to keep local backups while the remote disk may or may not be available. That said, this is using too much space for that.

    What kinds of files do you regularly use and edit on your computer? I think the OS is looking at frequently modified files and makes to sure to keep a few versions of them. You may want to exclude those from backups, if that's the case.
     
  3. jamin00 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamin00

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Essex, UK.
    #3
    OK, so where do I locate these files so I can delete them??
     
  4. wizardofoz85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I noticed the same thing on mine. My time machine backups seemed to be working fine with the external hard drive I use.

    The way I deleted the extra backups on the MBP itself was to go into the time machine preferences and turn off the backups then turn them on again. That seems to delete the ones on the laptop
     
  5. adnbek macrumors 65816

    adnbek

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #5
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Like wizardofoz85 mentioned, just turn Time Machine off then back on and that space will zero out.

    Or, you can just ignore it as OS X will shrink the space down if your drive starts to get over 80% full. Give this a read.
     
  7. jamin00 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamin00

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Essex, UK.
    #7
    Cheers guys.

    I entered that script in to the terminal.
     

Share This Page