Why the hell is the MBA 2010 excluded from Powernap?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by FX4568, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. FX4568 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #1
    I don't get it, the system requirements was SSD.
    Not any iseries crap or graphic processor crap.
    Is apple seriously abandoning a laptop that is barely a year and 8 months old?
    This just ruined my mood.

    ML is exactly the same thing as lion.
     
  2. revolutionx macrumors newbie

    revolutionx

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
  3. MarcBook macrumors 6502a

    MarcBook

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    #3
    It's not just an SSD that's required, Apple's built-in flash memory chips are needed for this feature.

    That's why only the 2011/12 MacBook Airs and the MacBook Pro with Retina display can support it, as these are the first models to have the custom storage.

    EDIT: And I'd hardly call one missing feature from Mountain Lion 'abandoning' your MacBook Air. And no, Mountain Lion is not the same as Lion. It's Lion optimised and added to, much like Snow Leopard was to Leopard.
     
  4. FX4568 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #4
    I thought the 2010 Macbook airs are built-in flash memory chips.
     
  5. motorazr macrumors 6502

    motorazr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Frozen Waste...wait. Duluth, Minnesota.
    #5
    .. Im not doing research, just guessing, so please don't kill me if I'm wrong.. (lots of hostile threads lately..) . . .


    ..anyway, I'm guessing it has to do with a lower-power wifi card? Or something regarding the whole system being more efficient when the lid is closed, and cooling is off? The i7s run cooler than the older core 2 duos, but I don't know about the 2010 air... but I could see a problem with it just getting too hot, too fast, and not working as intended (like when you use insomnia.app).

    anyone else is free to take stabbs :eek:
     
  6. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #6
    It is the need for the Ivy Bridge chipset which makes the whole thing possible. 2010 Airs just doesn't have the hardware needed.
     
  7. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    2011 MBA has a Sandy Bridge.
     
  8. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    The Nvidia Chipset + Lack of Core i-series chips would be my guess.
     
  9. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #9
    Sandy, my fault. My late 2011 Air does have Power Nap enabled. I am however curious... How do I know it works?
     
  10. jamin00 macrumors 6502

    jamin00

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Essex, UK.
    #10
    Do I have Power Nap?

    Late 2011 with SSD or does it have to be installed by apple as I put in a Crucial myself.

    Where is it if I do?
     
  11. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #11
    it sounds like apple is taking advantage of intel's smart connect technology which from what i can tell was first introduced with the sandy bridge processors.
     
  12. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #12
    Yes, Ivy bridge needed but...

    Is this feature disabled if using a 3rd party SSD instead of Apple's (like their silly-assed TRIM blackout)?
     
  13. iOrbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #13
    2 major features

    PowerNap

    AirPlay Mirroring
     
  14. 01mggt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #14
    Don't feel bad, I have a macbook pro retina and the SMC update to allow powernap isn't even released yet.
     
  15. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #15
    Yes, but the reason is not "silly-assed". From The Ars review:

     
  16. El Burro macrumors regular

    El Burro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #16
    Planned obsolescence. They want you to upgrade every 2-3 years. It's truly, "Think Different."
     
  17. iGuybrush macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #17
    I think it's not a planned obsolescence related matter, but a bad selling practice. Power Nap was introduced, like Airplay, as a major feature of Mountain Lion. However these software features have much to do with an implementation of some capabilities provided by the Ivy Bridge series of Intel chipsets.

    What many users could reproach Apple –to some extent– is not a planned obsolescence strategy but an unethical selling practice, where Airplay and Powernap weren't sufficiently explained so users couldn't entirely know what to expect.
     
  18. MarcBook macrumors 6502a

    MarcBook

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    #18
    OK, two, but they're both missing due to genuine hardware limitations (lack of built-in flash and lack of Intel Quick Sync).

    I'd still consider Mountain Lion to be a worthwhile upgrade without these features, though!
     
  19. FX4568 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #19
    My question is, why should anyone upgrade to ML if I rarely use airplay mirroring and power nap is disabled? I lack absolutely nothing.
    Can someone give me features in ML that didn't exist in Lion?
     
  20. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #20
    A quick look at the Apple website can do that for you...
    http://www.apple.com/osx/whats-new/
     
  21. Alameda macrumors 6502a

    Alameda

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #21
    Try "Find My Mac" while it's sleeping?
     
  22. Chris Morgan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #22
    I have a 2010 13 inch and just upgraded and I have power nap. There was an update shortly after dp4 came out that was firmware update 1.4 that said it was for the newer airs but i downloaded and installed it anyway and it gave me power nap and it is still present after downloading and clean installing the MAS version.
     
  23. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #24
    The reason is "silly-assed". That Ars review comment doesn't shed much light on anything. There are different profiles in Energy Saver preferences for battery power and mains power. If it was only about power consumption, Apple had the option of supporting Power Nap on mains power only, rather than exclude it altogether.
     
  24. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #25
    So it would have only worked when you are plugged in? That doesn't seem like a very Apple-like solution, and would only lead to consumer confusion. Apple would rather leave a feature out completely rather than have it semi-operational.
     

Share This Page