Why the limit on RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by alex.purple.mac, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. alex.purple.mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #1
    This is pretty much what the title states... I have the first generation macbook with the intel processor, and I was wondering why there is a limit on the amount of RAM I can put in? I have maxed it out to 2gb at the moment, and whilst I don't desperately need 4gb, i would be nice to have a faster macbook if I wanted one.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    The memory controller can't handle more than 2x1GB
     
  3. alex.purple.mac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #3
    Why is that? And is it possible Apple can change that due to software, or is it a physical limit?
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Physical.
     
  5. alex.purple.mac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

Share This Page