Why the zoomed status bar?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by bcc212, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. bcc212 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #1
    iPhone 6 - latest iOS.

    Why the zoomed in top/status bar with some apps?
     
  2. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #2
    The apps that are zoomed are not updated to the iPhone 6 resolution. So instead of black bars the app is zoomed to fit the screen.
     
  3. bcc212 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #3
    Wonder why they updated from the 4S-5 so quick and now so many apps not fully integrated for the 6. Odd.
     
  4. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #4
    My thoughts are that when the 5 came the non updated apps had black bars on the top and bottom. Now the app is just a little blurry. I don't think your average joe notices the difference this time. So developers don't feel the need to rush out and update their app.
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    They didn't really update to 5 all that quick either.
     
  6. Fatboy71 macrumors 65816

    Fatboy71

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    From memory, the apps that were not updated for the 5 had black bars at the top and bottom. I've got to admit I prefer the zoomed in apps more than the black bars at the top and bottom, which we had when the iPhone 5 came out.

    I can remember that the time scale from apps getting updated to take advantage of the larger screen of the iPhone 5, was pretty much the same time frame as we are seeing now for the 6 and 6 Plus.
     
  7. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #7
    I just don't understand how Android resolution scailing works better than what were currently seeing in iOS. It's probably just because I'm ignorant and don't fully comprehend the back end of the code for either platform.

    Bottom line, the big companies really need to update their apps. I'm looking at you Pandora!

    Also, I noticed a glitch with apps that have not been optimized for the new iPhones. The apps, which take advantage of Touch ID, can sometimes freeze up and completely lock the phone.
     
  8. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #8
    I think Androids UI is vector based so it can scale to any screen. I think since iOS 7 that iOS is vector based as well. So in the future we might not have this problem. Don't quote me on this I'm just guessing.
     
  9. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #9
    iOS is vector based, it's in there in that developer portal.
     
  10. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #10
    So why the problem then?
     
  11. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #11
    I just confirmed his information there isn't problem?
     
  12. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #12
    With the resolution of non-optimized apps. I guess once these apps update, no matter what size screen Apple churns up next, it will scale nicely?
     
  13. TL24 macrumors 6502a

    TL24

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #13
    I just hate the zoomed status bar on the lock screen, how the F does apple not fix that?
     
  14. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #14
    Cause it's probably not a bug. I would like it to be the same size as well though.
     
  15. Bahroo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    #15
    has something to do with how iOS was made, if they put the resolution at 1080p for 6 plus, text and everything would be blurry due to the fact that it isnt scaled up to 3x(iphone 6 is 2x i believe and 5s/5 are 1x) . so they have to render everything on the plus at 2204x1258 resolution for the upmost closest possible 1:1 pixel mapping(gets downscaled to 6 plus screen resolution)
     
  16. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    That's by design it would seem.
     
  17. iBreatheApple macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    It has definitely been a better transition now than back then. Those black bars were awful. And it took some devs forever to update. It's a lot less subtle now (when apps aren't updated). Many times the only reason I notice is because of the status bar.
     
  18. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #18
    There's nothing to fix. It's always been like that on all the iPhones.
     
  19. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #19
    Since iOS 7.
     
  20. oplix macrumors 65816

    oplix

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #20
    The hilarious thing is that the lock screen itself is zoomed meaning its not running a native resolution.
     
  21. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #21
    Isn't it also larger on iPhone 5s and below, where there is no lower resolution to be used?
     
  22. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #22
    No, it's natively rendered like that. It's sharper than the status bar in upscaled apps.
     
  23. gordon1234 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #23

    First off, big fan of the zoomed lock screen here. It makes it a lot easier to quickly activate it and check battery, signal strength, whatever, which I presume was the point. It's not like all that space is being used for anything else like it is when the phone is unlocked.

    To address the above comment though, "zooming" isn't the same as upscaling. For the lock screen, Apple is simply increasing the size at which the font and icons are rendered at. This has nothing to do with "native resolution." it's completely different from the upscaling applied to apps that have not been optimized for larger phones. With these apps, the content is being rendered at a smaller size, then upscaled. Much like taking an image and zooming in too much, this makes everything a little blurry, and also larger. The lock screen isn't doing this - it's just telling certain elements to render at a different size. There is no upscaling of the whole image, and no blur.
     
  24. marvz macrumors 6502a

    marvz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    Berlin
    #24
    Right.

    The problem is that older apps were often hardcoded to the 3,5'' display and then later to the 4'' display. That means these developers have to completely rewrite their apps with vector graphics which can be very time consuming.
     
  25. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #25
    Am I right in thinking that even if apps were designed with the very latest vector graphics and the auto layout stuff that was around in the 7.x/8.0 beta SDKs before the iPhone 6/+ arrived, the apps still needed to flip a switch to be enabled for the higher resolutions, even if that was literally the only work that needed doing?

    Because even if these apps could theoretically resize to different resolutions, I'm guessing Apple preferred to just run it scaled and force developers to do a tiny bit of work to check it's all ok and then flip the switch, rather than risk potentially breaking apps and making developers fix a live problem.

    I wouldn't be surprised if this is still a philosophy for any future screen resolution changes. i.e. apps may be very easily modified (down to the level of just changing a boolean) to run at different resolutions, but will never automatically run at them without developers making that choice. They can future proof but the future won't be forced on them.
     

Share This Page