Why upgrade to 4.0GHz and M295X?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mstgkillr, Oct 18, 2014.

1. mstgkillr macrumors regular

For those of you that are purchasing the new 5k iMac and upgrading to the 4.0GHz processor and/or the M295X... what is your justification behind it? Are you a professional, gamer, for longevity, just have to have the best, etc...

What activities will you actually notice a difference between the two?

2. Slyth66 macrumors member

I am a video editor and (hopeful) filmmaker and college student. I really didn't want a 27 inch screen but I felt like since this is the only update to the iMac line I might as well get it, and if I'm gonna be stuck with it for a while, I wanted to make it the best it could be for the long term for only a few hundred more.

And to be honest, I just saw that most people here were doing it so I pulled the trigger as well, haha. I was originally only going to upgrade the GPU.

3. KenAFSPC macrumors 6502a

Longevity would be my justification.

If I spend $3000+ on a computer, I expect to use it at least 5 years.

I would also opt for a SSD if that's not easy or possible to add after the fact. Unlike the faster CPU, the SSD will make a noticeable difference right now.

4. Wahlstrm macrumors 6502a

Wahlstrm

It´s the hardest display on the planet to run right now, so it seems unwise to not put as much power as possible behind it..

If you ever tried the first gen rMBP 13 you know what you want to avoid att all costs. Much of that got solved with software but better hardware sure helps :)

5. DerekS macrumors 6502

I actually placed an order without the cpu bump, then cancelled and reordered with it.

I don't want any regrets, and I wanted the i7. In both cases I bumped the gpu because I want all the horsepower I can get for this monster screen!

6. boy-better-know macrumors 65816

boy-better-know