Why VM?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by XP-User77, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. XP-User77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #1
    I am interested,why dont more people dual-boot Windows and OS X instead of using a VM? It gives you %100 of the power of your Mac and allows all of the functions that it would on a PC.

    so why not?
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    Because needing to say, test your website on IE8 doesn't require 100% of your computer.
     
  3. XP-User77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #3
    True,and IE is just a tracker cookie storage,toolbar,and Microsoft spyware utility that also happens to be able to render web pages
     
  4. mrmayor92 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #4
    also some poeple dont want to have to reboot their mac every time they use windows
     
  5. XP-User77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #5

    Yeah,but it can take less then a minute if your using a well maintained OS X install and a XP install.

    but with vista or 7 i can understand this reason.
     
  6. robanga macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    I have Win 7 running on one machine as a dual-boot and on another within a VM. Win 7 boots considerably faster than Vista I will say.

    The VM is nice for the reasons mentioned and also the " unity modes" of Fusion or the new Crystal mode of Parallels is really nice.

    You basically run Windows apps without ever leaving OS X.
     
  7. rowsdower macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #7
    It takes much more than a minute to start everything that I need once I get to Windows, and then shut it all down again, reboot, and start everything I need once I get to OS X. With a virtual machine I can leave my OS X programs running and load a saved Windows state, which also probably has the programs I need running already.
     

Share This Page