Why will Mavericks/SL not mount these drives?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by LetNightExplode, Mar 20, 2014.

  1. LetNightExplode macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #1
    I have a few hard drives in this mac pro tower 10.9 Mavericks - they show up in Disk Utility but will not mount. DU shows a sort-of "blank document" or "unidentified filetype" image instead of the normal icon for external media.

    I used CCC to migrate data from a 3TB drive to a 4TB drive on a computer running a 10.8 Mountain Lion - and then (with the hard drives disconnected) upgraded that machine to 10.9 Mavericks. Since re-connecting, they will not mount. However, they will also no longer mount if I place them in a NAS connected to my MacBook Pro running 10.6 Snow Leopard.

    Both yes, are over 2.2 TB in size.

    They used to work before (and connected to each other via shared folders, etc, etc.
     
  2. ssls6 macrumors 6502a

    ssls6

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #2

    What do you see when you type

    diskutil list

    in terminal?
     
  3. LetNightExplode thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #3
    disk0 is the System SSD - running smooth as butter. disk1 and disk 6 ("Medias") are the culprits. they will not mount and Disk Utility shows them as having "0 folders and 0 files" - although showing they're actual disk usage/capacity. disk 2 is a Windows installation (doubt its relevant though) disk 3 and 4 are USB sticks, and disk 5 is another drive equivalent to the "Medias"

    Code:
    /dev/disk0
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *250.1 GB   disk0
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Sharp Island            249.7 GB   disk0s2
    /dev/disk1
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *3.0 TB     disk1
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk1s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Media 2                 3.0 TB     disk1s2
    /dev/disk2
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk2
       1:               Windows_NTFS System Reserved         104.9 MB   disk2s1
       2:               Windows_NTFS                         1.0 TB     disk2s2
    /dev/disk3
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *7.9 GB     disk3
       1:                 DOS_FAT_32 OSX TOOLS               7.9 GB     disk3s1
    /dev/disk4
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *7.9 GB     disk4
       1:                  Apple_HFS OSX                     7.9 GB     disk4s1
    /dev/disk5
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:     Apple_partition_scheme                        *1.5 TB     disk5
       1:        Apple_partition_map                         32.3 KB    disk5s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Sharp Island 3          1.5 TB     disk5s3
    /dev/disk6
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *3.0 TB     disk6
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk6s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Media 3                 3.0 TB     disk6s2
    [​IMG]

    here you can see the icons for those partitions does not load, either ..

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! thank you!
     
  4. ssls6 macrumors 6502a

    ssls6

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #4
    They don't necessarily look odd. Did you try running disk utility repair on any of the volumes?
     
  5. LetNightExplode thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #5
    Yup, sure did.

    [​IMG]

    It "mounts" with 0 files and folders - but you can see that the files are taking up space. It doesn't every actually show up in Finder either. - DiskUtility says I can "unmount" it but it never popped up into the Devices list in Finder. This is rather weird
     
  6. adnbek macrumors 65816

    adnbek

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #6
    Could be due to permissions when you migrated to a new drive. I see it says "Owners Enabled: Yes" in your screenshot above. Do you see the the icons of the two inaccessible drives on the desktop? Right-click, choose get info and post a screenshot of the permissions summary at the bottom.

    Also when you tried to repair disk earlier, did you select the disk itself or the partition within? Repairing disk when selecting a disk or selecting the partition have two separate functions. Try doing both.

    But mainly I suspect it's an issue with permissions so I'll wait to see the screenshot.
     
  7. LetNightExplode thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #7
    The drives do not appear on the desktop or in finder. I selected "repair disk" for both the volume and the partition itself.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  8. adnbek, Mar 22, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2014

    adnbek macrumors 65816

    adnbek

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #8
    Ok, so it's not an ownership issue. It's normal for internal drives to have owners enabled.

    A quick google search tells me it's possible your drives are "hidden". To test this, click on "go" in the finder menu bar, click "go to folder" and in the box type:

    Code:
    /Volumes/Media 2
    and then do the same but enter this instead

    Code:
    /Volumes/Media 3
    Do your drive contents appear in a finder window? If yes, then it's confirmed. Then simply open terminal and enter

    Code:
    chflags nohidden /Volumes/Media 2
    Code:
    chflags nohidden /Volumes/Media 3
    to unhide each.
     

Share This Page