Why won't my Dazzle bridge work into my G4?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mr.jerffrey, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. mr.jerffrey, Apr 11, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2011

    mr.jerffrey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #1
    I have a Panasonic PalmSight PV-DV710 video recorder that I am trying to use to load video into my G4. I am using a Dazzle Hollywood DV-Bridge. I have a firewire mini dv plug coming out of the Panasonic and into the Dazzle. Then a firewire out of the Dazzle and into my machine. But nothing is showing up on my desktop. On the Dazzle there is a red dash illuminated next to a message that says "Pass Through." I assume that means the information is passing through the bridge? The other modes to select are D to A and A to D, which I assume is for a component patch. I know that the firewire cable going to the G4 works, so I don't know what the problem is. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #2
    Why are you using the Dazzle as a bridge with a DV firewire camera that can plug right into your Mac? Why do you expect something to show up on the desktop? You suggest that the blinking messages may be errors, but you haven't said if you've read the Dazzle's documentation to confirm that.

    Use System Profiler to confirm that the Mac is seeing the connected firewire device.

    What software and versions are you using? OS X, iMovie, Final Cut, Dazzle etc? What model and version of the hardware? Often that can help someone help you. That isn't me in this case as I have no experience with this product.
     
  3. mr.jerffrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the post. I tried plugging the videocamera directly into the G4 and it didn't create a drive on the desktop. Shouldn't it? If I plug in my ipod or external hard drive, it will appear on the desk top. So I assumed the same for the video camera.

    I haven't used this equipment in several years so I could be wrong in my approach. I had the Dazzle platform so I thought I needed it when I didn't see a drive created on my desktop.


    I'll look in System Profiler.. nice tip.


    I have Final Cut. I opened it up but found no way to get the video camera connected.


    Do you know what I"m missing here? I can't remember versions right now... I did discover that I was using the wrong power cord to power the Dazzle, which is why it was blinking. I found the right power cord and it stopped blinking, but I still was unable to get the recorder onto the computer.
     
  4. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #4
    From what I've been able to find out about your camera, it is a tape based mini DV camera. That will not show up on the desktop because there isn't a dynamic file system to access.

    The workflow is; plug the camera into the computer via it's firewire port, turn the camera on to the VCR playback mode, start your software, ingest the content.

    As mentioned check System Profiler, after connecting and turning on the camera. The Mac has to see it before it can work with the camera. If it does't see it, then perhaps try placing the Dazzle in the middle.

    Versions of software are available via their menu. Under their name choose about <program>.

    Final Cut is complicated so I won't explain how to get your video from the camera. Read the manual or look for an online source discussing Log & Transfer. You may also have to set FC up to recognize your camera.
     
  5. mr.jerffrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #5
    Thank You. I am a retard. It works fine on Imovie. It didn't work on Final Cut but I know it's more complicated software. Dazzle is not needed.
     
  6. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #6
    If it works in iMovie it will most likely work in Final Cut. Frankly, FC is the better option if you are using iMovie 08 or new. The newer iMoives don't like DV interlaced material. It's a quality loss issue.
     

Share This Page