Why won't my mac boot into OS 9.2.2?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by paulwgraber, Feb 2, 2014.

  1. paulwgraber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #1
    Just got my new G4 1.25GHZ single FW400 MDD model for the sole purpose of booting direct into 9.2.2. So I hook it all up, put the OS 9.2.2 CD in to boot from so I can install it on my blank WD 250G HD and nothing. So I put an OSX.4 CD in and try to boot from that. Nothing. Frustrated at this point I put my Leopard DVD in and yes it boots from that just fine. OK so now what? Again the whole reason I went and downgraded to get this particular G4 was for Dual booting into Classic and 10.5. Again mine is a single 1.25GHZ, MDD, FW400 model. I thought this was one of the last dual booting models???

    Help. I am very frustrated at this point.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Is your 9.2.2 a restore disc for a MDD G4? If it isn't it won't boot.
     
  3. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #3
    no its a retail 9.2.2.

    so how can I get it to install then?
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    One method would be to connect your MDD Mac to an older Mac that will boot to the OS 9 installer, or just boot that older Mac to an installed OS 9 system, then run the installer from the OS 9 installer CD. You would be connected with Firewire to the MDD Mac, which you would boot to Target Disk mode. Format the hard drive in the MDD using the Drive Setup Utility, and install OS 9, with the MDD hard drive as the destination.
    The drive will only be bootable in OS 9 if installed in the rear, vertical mount (not in the front mount under the optical drives.)
    (I could have that backwards, but I don't think so. Intell will likely correct me if I'm wrong :D )
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    There never was a retail 9.2.2. It was only ever released on restore discs.
     
  6. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #6
    Here is what I have.

    OS 8 disk
    OS 9.0 retail
    OS 9.2.2 update disk
    OS X restore disk
    OS X retail
    OS X.5 retail
     
  7. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #7
    So if I got a set of G4 9.1 restore disk would I be able to boot from that?
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    No, a MDD PowerMac G4 can only boot OS 9.2.2 from its restore disc.
     
  9. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #9
    So each restore disk is matched to its own PPC?

    They are not interchangeable?
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Yes, each restore disc is limited to being used only with the model machine it came with.
     
  11. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #11
    So basically what you are saying is that any mac purchased without its restore disk is absolutely useless?

    I can't belive that apple would make things som difficult and complicated.
    I have two G4's that are useless to me then because I do not have their original disks.

    So why would people even sell restore disks or mac on ebay then?

    I am so frustrated at this point!!!!!
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    There's not really any way around it; the computer was released after OS 9 and therefore the OS 9 CD doesn't support the computer.
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    It isn't useless. You can use a retail Tiger or Leopard disc to put a new operating system on it. People sell restore discs because someone may have a Mac without them and need to reinstall the original OS.
     
  14. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #14
    Is it not possible to clone Mac OS 9 onto the HD, and then put it in the G4? Would that boot?
     
  15. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #15
    s if i install tiger on one hard drive can i then install 9.2.2 onto a diff hard drive?
     
  16. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #16
    Why not just call Apple and ask them for an OS 9.x Restore Disk for your model?

    Apple sells restore disks for low cost. It's even been reported that they are given out free sometimes.

    If Apple doesn't have a restore disk (OS9.x) for your model then you aren't any worse off then you are right now.
     
  17. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
  18. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #18
    Yep, you can. As long as Apple still has a copy they will sell it to you for something around $25. Again, I've heard of some people getting it for free. But don't count on that.

    My guess as to why Apple does this is both customer service, a small amount of revenue generation and the fact that since it's a model specific disk it's limited to working on just your model.

    Worth a shot calling them anyway.
     
  19. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #19
    This is the bad thing about running OS 9 on a MDD. Needing the install discs. I have them for a dual 867 MDD. The last time I installed OS 9, I backed up the system and applications folder. If you need a copy, let me know. Since you own the hardware, you are licensed to own the originally installed software.
     
  20. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #20
    Well I called Apple and they were very nice about it but told me they no longer carry restore disks. They said they stopped a few months ago. So I'm sitting here staring at my dead mac frustrated as hell.
     
  21. WMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #21
    Meanwhile, you can still boot a new PC from a Windows XP CD and install it. All you need is a driver disk. Heck, most PCs will still boot into the Windows 98 installer; it probably won't recognize the hard drive, but at least it does something.

    This is one thing Apple has never handled very well. The closest they got were the "System Enablers" from the System 7 era, but I think even those were just pre-patched copies of the OS; you couldn't add one to a retail copy after the fact.
     
  22. micahgartman macrumors member

    micahgartman

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #22
    I PM'd some info to you—hope it helps :)
     
  23. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #23
    You could; I remember installing a retail System 7 on a system that needed an enabler. The trick was to drop the enabler onto the first install disk so that it'd boot, and then copy it onto the hard drive once the system was installed. It wasn't absolutely trivial but wasn't too difficult either.

    As for your other point, it's a good point but I presume that it has something to do with OS 9's driver model. I don't know the technical reasons there.
     
  24. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #24
    So would a retail version of 10.4 work? Which would allow me access to classic therefore installing 9 on my mac?

    I noticed my retail 10.5 installs just fine.
     
  25. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #25
    Retail 10.4 and 10.5 will work just fine. But if you ever want to boot that machine into OS 9, the restore disc is required.
     

Share This Page