Why won't Photoshop CS6 function in Sierra 10.12.1?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by CLOD-HOPPER, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. CLOD-HOPPER macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #1
    Hello. Recently, I installed Sierra 10.12.1 on a separate partition on my iMac. On the other partition, my regular OS is El Capitan, and everything works fine on this system — even Photoshop CS6.

    When I did a clean install of Sierra, I also did a clean install of several of my third-party apps, including Photoshop CS6. All the updates were applied, and I set my System Preferences to "Allow apps downloaded from Anywhere". No files were transferred from any other operating system (such as El Capitan, though, to save work and time, I might have wanted to do that).

    In Sierra, Photoshop starts up normally when its icon is double-clicked. However, if I then select any command (such as: File > New), it quits instantly. Over the last three days, I have installed and re-installed Photoshop several times, and nothing changes — it just keeps crashing when a command is applied.

    On the website Roaring Apps, I note that it is shown that Photoshop CS6 will function in Sierra. However, this is not borne out by my experience. I sought the help of the Adobe Forum, but what they suggested did not work either. Is there anyone on this forum that can suggest what may be the cause, and how to put it right? Without Photoshop, I cannot move on to any further up-to-date operating systems.

    With thanks in advance, to anyone that can help,
    Clod-Hopper
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    Do you have all of Photoshop CS6's updates installed? Look in Console to see what is logged when Photoshop crashes and that may be useful information for troubleshooting.
     
  3. CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #4
    Yes, all the updates have been installed. I'm not familiar with Console, but I will look at it and see what it may reveal. Thanks for the response.
     
  4. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #5
  5. CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #6
    No, Java is not installed, and Photoshop does not need it. I looked this up and found that this is the case.
    C-H
    --- Post Merged, Nov 4, 2016 ---
    chrfr: I grabbed a screenshot of the Photoshop crash of today's date, in Console. It would be easier for me to read Greek than to make sense of that! If you could find out anything from this screenshot, I would upload it for you to study.
    C-H
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    It'd be easier if you copy/pasted the text here, using some CODE tags, rather than attaching the screen shot. I can't say for sure I can find anything useful in there, but someone might.
     
  7. CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #8
    Thanks, but you have lost me. I have no idea what CODE tags are. Perhaps this had better be dropped, if the screenshot is of no use.
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    When you say all updates - I'm assuming V13.0.6 x64? It's been working for me.

    Lou
     
  9. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #10
    i have a few clients running photoshop CS6 in sierra (only dreamweaver & illustrator need the legacy java). have you tried setting up a test admin account, and seeing if photoshop works there?...
     
  10. CLOD-HOPPER, Nov 4, 2016
    Last edited: May 30, 2017

    CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #11
    Hey, Fisherking, I didn't think of that! Thanks very much! Tomorrow, I will do just that.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 4, 2016 ---
    Flowrider, yes, the installation + brings it up to 13.0.6, and it is X64. I was searching the Adobe website today, and came across a page that says an update to 13.1.0 (and maybe even 13.1.2) can be downloaded by Creative Cloud members (I am a member). It turned out that a precondition of being able to do that was to download Photoshop CC (as a trial, if desired). This is what I did, and Photoshop CC — 2017 version — was installed. It runs beautifully, but the trial lasts for only 7 days (so this is only a temporary pleasure). When it came to my trying to download "previous versions" as directed (which ought to have included the update referred to above), no such previous versions were to be found. I had hoped that this would solve the problem. However, to me, this seems to have been just a ploy by Adobe, to induce people to use Photoshop CC, be tempted, then buy it.
    Anyway, I now have it from someone who knows (Fisherking — see his/her posting, above), that Photoshop 13.0.6 will run in Sierra.
    I shall try setting up a second user admin account, as he suggests, and trying Photoshop CS6 in that. If it works, naturally, I shall tell this forum.
    C.H.
     
  11. CLOD-HOPPER, Nov 4, 2016
    Last edited: May 30, 2017

    CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #12
    Fisherking — a thousand thanks for what you suggested! I created another admin account as you suggested, for the purpose of testing, and installed Photoshop CS6 Extended in it. It works! This time, I was able not only to open it, but also to use it. This seems to be the end of the problem — in principle, anyway. When I logged in again into my "regular use" account, Photoshop still crashed when I clicked on File > New. So, the cause of the trouble must be in this account. Would it be OK to delete the regular account, log into my test account (which had to be given a user name that is different from my real name, to avoid duplication), then create another admin account in my real name, and use that for my regular work, from then on? (I am assuming, of course, that Photoshop would work also in the new "regular use" account — and why would it not, in view of what has happened?
    I should be grateful for your opinion about my planned course of action, as I don't want to ruin things at the last minute.
    Gratefully, C.H.
     
  12. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #13
    wondering what's up with your 'main' account & photoshop. do you have a lot of work, or email, etc in your account? could be a big job to move to a new account; you'd have to get all your work, email, bookmarks...

    just think it thru. perhaps delete the test account, and create a new admin account like "Your Name2"... log in, make sure everything works. let us know if you need help getting all your files to the new account (and if anyone's done this, PLEASE chime in!).
     
  13. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #14
    I'm also someone who "knows":oops:


    Lou
     
  14. CLOD-HOPPER, Nov 5, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2016

    CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #15
    Flowrider — sorry, I had forgotten. There's been so much on my mind with this problem, my mind has been in a whirl. Also, late nights, struggling with it....
    --- Post Merged, Nov 5, 2016 ---
    Fisherking — it's not that there is a lot of work in it. However, it could be some conflicting app preferences that caused the malfunction. I would rather keep my original account, if possible. Perhaps I could start up in Safe Mode, and add the possible culprits gradually. It could be a time-consuming process, but I think that that is what I will try. If/when I find out what caused it, I will post again on this forum. Meanwhile, sincere thanks to all that have responded to my bleatings.
     
  15. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #16
    or just, at least for now, do your photoshop work in the other account, and keep all your work in the Shared folder (so, i believe, it will be accessible in both accounts?). just a thought....
     
  16. CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #17
    Fisherking, by the time I had seen your last message, the thing had been done. After logging in to the test account, I deleted the first account (had spent about two hours, trying to find the cause of the bug, with no success). Then, after the deletion, I created a new Admin account in my real name, which now could be accepted by the system. Photoshop now works perfectly in my new account. After that, I deleted the test account and spent the rest of the day setting up my new account. It all seems to be done and dusted now, except for transferring Mail inboxes and my contacts list. Without your original suggestion, I would still be struggling with Photoshop! I don't know why that idea did not occur to me, as I knew that this was the best thing to do when an app misbehaves. I suppose that I was just too close up to the problem to see the answer. Thanks again.
     
  17. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #18
    glad you've got it sorted, that's all that really matters!
     
  18. CLOD-HOPPER, Nov 6, 2016
    Last edited: May 30, 2017

    CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #19
    Fisherking — You will find what follows hard to believe. Today (Sunday 6/11/16), having seen that Photoshop was performing properly in Sierra, I was emboldened to proceed with setting up the rest of my Mac. This involved a great deal of work in transferring mailboxes, contacts and, finally, setting up a user account for my wife, as she had in El Capitan. This took me most of the afternoon. When I had finished setting up her account, I logged out and then into my own Sierra user account. I clicked on Photoshop and it opened. Just as a test (I have become used to testing my luck with it, after all the trouble there has been with it), I clicked again on File > New. Immediately, Photoshop crashed! And it keeps on crashing, even though my other copy, on El Cap, is deactivated.
    Now, I have given up on Sierra. I simply have neither the time or the nervous energy to deal with all this. I shall stay with El Cap from now on. I just thought that I would let you know. I surely have done nothing untoward that would cause this failure. I think that the fault lies in Sierra. When I logged in yesterday, I found that my log-in items, in Users and Groups, had gone, except one. Also, today when I logged in, the log-in sticky notes had lost all their notes. I restored them, by copying the Stickies Database over again. They have stayed, but I cannot trust Sierra any more. Perhaps the next update will put it right, but I'm not holding my breath.
    Regards,
    C.H.
     
  19. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #20
    hard to tell from here what the problem is, too many variables. but since i know people running photoshop CS6 in sierra... it's something specific to your setup. either way, as long as you're working, the OS is less important.

    take a day off from the computer! you've earned it. :cool:
     
  20. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #21
    Have you got CS5? My copy seems to be working fine under Sierra.
     
  21. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #22
    https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2211774

    I find the first response to be particularly relevant


    And I quote-

    There is an immediate workaround that should get the installer going:

    1. Right-click (or Control-click) the installer and choose Show Package Contents.
    2. In the Install window that opens in the Finder, go to the Contents/MacOS folder, and in there, double-click Install. That will open the Terminal application, some lines of code will automatically run, and the actual Installer should successfully launch.
     
  22. CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #23
    Patron22. Yes, I have Photoshop CS5. However, I want to run the most up-to-date version. Others can run CS6, so why won't it work on my Mac?
    --- Post Merged, Dec 1, 2016 ---
    Thadoggfather, I tried the method outlined by Adobe. However, though it did install (several times, in all), it still will not run. It will open, but, when a command is given (File > New), it crashes. I gave up on Sierra, and am using El Capitan, where Photoshop functions perfectly. Thanks, anyway.
     
  23. CLOD-HOPPER thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    #24

    Hey, fisherking, this is a much-belated report, but finally, I got Photoshop to work in my main account, and it has been working, now, for over a week! By setting up a trial user account and opening Photoshop CS6 in it, then adding apps, I found that the fly in the ointment was an app called "Deskovery". When I quit Deskovery, Photoshop would work again. When I opened Deskovery again, Photoshop immediately was in trouble. So, I'm very happy about this, and thought it polite to let you (and the other contributors) know.
     
  24. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #25
    great that you figured that out! it's often that one little thing that throws a wrench into everything else...
     

Share This Page