Why wont the SODIMM go in?!?!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by craigatcraignet, Dec 28, 2007.

  1. craigatcraignet macrumors newbie

    craigatcraignet

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #1
    OK, I'm a Windows Network Admin. Does this mean that my iMac hates me?
    I have a 20" Core2Duo that I am trying to add a 1 Gig SODIMM to.

    Mistake #1: Not checking here for recomendations.
    Mistake #2: Buying from CompUSA at their end of biz sale.

    What I got: 1 Gig PNY MN1024SD2-667 PC5300 SODIMM.

    I think that this should work. (PNY said in would during a phone call.)

    My question: Any ideas why this unit doesn't just slide into place?
    I've tried everything that I can think of short of a hammer. (You know us windows guys. If it doesn't fit, force it.)

    Any way. Any ideas would be most happily accepted.
     
  2. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #2
    Other than making sure the notch on the ram is lined up with the notch on the ram slot.. not a lot to it.
     
  3. 119576 Guest

    119576

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #3
    This might sound ridiculous; but, did you take the original RAM out first?

    Also, it just takes a little bit of thumb-force to push in.
     
  4. craigatcraignet thread starter macrumors newbie

    craigatcraignet

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #4
    Yep, sure did. That one of the things I used to show students when I was teaching intro to PC classes.

    Thanks thou!
     
  5. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #5
    Did you check the pins are they in good condition. Maybe your not using enough force it's takes quite a lot.
     
  6. bocomo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    yep-more than you think
     
  7. craigatcraignet thread starter macrumors newbie

    craigatcraignet

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #7
    Didn't have to. The new module is going in the second (empty) slot.

    I think that I was too rested yesterday. I do my best work when I am tired and totaly bemused at my users at work. Yes I really do have a user that uses the CD tray as a soda can holder. (He's one of the company owners. What can ya do.)

    Tonight I will be spent and will not be able to over think the problem. Should have no trouble then.

    Thanks! and I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  8. craigatcraignet thread starter macrumors newbie

    craigatcraignet

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #8
    Me SO DIMM, You're not!

    Hello boys, I'm back.

    Well, while I was at lunch, I went home to try to install the 1 Gig PNY MN1024SD2-667 again.

    It still would not seat correctly. So I removed the module that came with the iMac in order to compare them.
    Left, right, top, bottom, front, and back. They are both the same size. However!
    The notch in the PNY module is about 2 notchs width off of where the Apple module's notch is. This is only noticable if you hold both modules together.
    Dudes, I'm so like bummed.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  9. 119576 Guest

    119576

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #9
    In that case, it will most certainly not go in! You're going to have to get new RAM, unfortunately.
     
  10. nhexima macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #10
    Ouch. I've heard about this problem before, unfortunately it seems like not all 200-pin PC2-5300 ram is not the same physical form, and sometimes it doesn't fit properly despite all the other specs being right. Looks like you'll have to return it. :(
     
  11. craigatcraignet thread starter macrumors newbie

    craigatcraignet

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #11
    I'd love to return it. But....
    I bought it at CompUSA. Since their business model has them closing their doors very soon, one can not return what one has bought.
    So I now have this 1 Gig silicon, fiberglass, and copper thing sitting on my desk. It looks cool and serves as a reminder that gravity is still working.:cool:

    Have a happy New Year.:D
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    The position of the notch distinguishes between DDR and DDR2.
     
  13. nhexima macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #13
    Interesting, I did not know that. But... according to the specs of that model, it's DDR2, which is the right one for Intel iMacs, isn't it?
     
  14. craigatcraignet thread starter macrumors newbie

    craigatcraignet

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #14
    And Now for the rest of the story

    After getting a set of reading glasses (OK I'm nearly 50 and the eyes are not as good as they once were.) I see that the tag on the SODIMM module reads DDR not DDR2. Great. The packageing says DDR2 but it's not.
    So I go to my local PC Cub store and get a real DDR2 SODIMM. It slides right in and works great.
    Now, what to do with the useless (to me) DDR module.

    Thanks to all who replied.
     
  15. splashtech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #15
    Try the marketplace here - it might be useful to someone. And/or ebay maybe? :)
     
  16. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #16
    HEHE I was reading this post and came back to it to see the conclusion. Damn you must of been pissed!!! Im glad you didn't take that pc owners vow and make it work :p Im glad you got it all figured out though.
     

Share This Page