why would quad-macpro use diff ram than octomac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bearbo, Apr 7, 2007.

  1. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #1
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305352
    why would there be such distinction?
     
  2. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #2
    I will grant you that it's weird. Perhaps it's a way to compete against the ultra low prices of FB-Dimms that have emerged the past month, so that Apple will get a little more dough in their pockets?
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    This is really strange, especially as it appears to be identically spec'd.
     
  4. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
  5. osx-linux macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #5
    My only guess would be the heat. The mactopus certainly will get hotter than the quad.
     
  6. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    Well, as they say there, "qualified", as in the older stuff might possibly work but hasn't been tested. If there have been any revisions to the parts in the months since the first models came out, they may simply have wanted to skip testing of the older ones that are probably still in circulation.
     
  7. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    I agree with most .... it is probably heat orientated.
     

Share This Page