Why wouldn't I buy a refurbished mac book pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by r1ngx, Feb 22, 2015.

1. r1ngx macrumors newbie

Please give me reasons not to buy a refurbished mac book pro. I am really leaning that way, but I'm fighting it. Please help me to realize that a refurb is not for me. Thanks in advance!

2. MetalGamer09 macrumors member

Not really sure what to say. Are u saying u don't want a refurb? then don't buy one. It's as simple as that. Some people like them because of the lower price point and they have all new parts in them anyway. Some people don't like them because it's still technically a used machine.

3. r1ngx thread starter macrumors newbie

logically, I think its a great deal. but I am hoping someone will point out something that I may not think of until later.. trying to avoid buyers remorse.

4. skiltrip macrumors 68030

Every refurb product I've gotten from Apple has been as new. When given the choice, I always go with the refurb. I'm a teacher/educator and refurbs are still a little better price than the educational price.

5. catzilla macrumors 6502

catzilla

All of my Macs for the last 15 years have been open box, refurb, or leftovers. My last machine was a late '13 rMBP which was purchased 2 months ago, .2 Ghz slower but $500 cheaper. Don't forget the silent upgrades sometimes found in Apple refurbs.

6. r1ngx thread starter macrumors newbie

My thinking right now is unless they refresh the mbp lines before March 15, I will go with a refurb as I am ready to buy next month. I have a mid 2010 that Ive had enough of (ridiculous 8 gig ram limit).

7. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

sigmadog

I bought a 13" rMBP with a 2.8Ghz i5 and 16GB RAM and 512GB flash drive just a couple weeks ago. Imagine my surprise when I checked the system info to discover what they sent me was a 3Ghz i7.

I should return it and demand Apple give me what I ordered ;)