wi-fi calling

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by monnyblack1, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. monnyblack1 macrumors regular

    monnyblack1

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Location:
    meridian ms
    #1
    do At&t wi-fi calling drain a lot of battery???
     
  2. kch50428 macrumors 6502

    kch50428

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    North Iowa
    #2
    Doesn't seem to on my Verizon iPhone6...
     
  3. tjleonard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #3
    I don't think so.

    Lack of cell signal would drain more.
     
  4. Damolee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #4
    Mystery I am looking into. I've got it enabled, and can still see the usual signal bars. Don't get many calls so wondering more about any idle drain.
     
  5. imlynxy, Mar 5, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016

    imlynxy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #5
    I compared Att and T-mo vowifi and I found that T-mo vowifi drains batteries faster than Att. Also I found that Att had a crispy quality , like HD volte, while T-mo had echo and worse quality, I can say GSM/CDMA quality.
    I like T-mo more than Att as a company, but this is how it is.
    I hope I'm wrong and my experiment is incorrect.
    I didn't like use T-mo vowifi due to poor voice quality.
     
  6. Mindcrime macrumors regular

    Mindcrime

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #6
    Is wifi calling free since it uses data and not regular voice?

    Also, is it better than FaceTime audio. I usually call my wife overseas using FT audio; for quality, it's perfectly crystal clear. On LTE it uses about 20MB for 20 minutes of calling, so it's very data plan friendly.
     
  7. monnyblack1 thread starter macrumors regular

    monnyblack1

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Location:
    meridian ms
  8. Mindcrime, Mar 9, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2016

    Mindcrime macrumors regular

    Mindcrime

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #8
    [Redacted]

    Bloody hell I have no idea how that happened. One minute I'm the Ulysses thread, then blammo! my post goes here.

    Sorry!
     
  9. Speedman100 macrumors 6502

    Speedman100

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #9
    I think you posted in the wrong place.
     
  10. Mindcrime macrumors regular

    Mindcrime

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #10
    Dammit, I could have sworn i was in the other post. Thanks for the heads up!!
     

Share This Page