Wi-Fi cutting off from time to time.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SXR, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    So I got a new router from my ISP, so I removed my old router and just use theirs in stead. Now, on my iMac when Im streaming video (live.twit.tv to be exact) sometimes the video doesn't play as well. As if I dont have sufficient bandwidth. It always worked fine and my ISP promised me that my internet speeds are increased, so i should have even more bandwidth than i had before. However, I didn't have this problem before and now I do. Also, since I installed this new router sometimes pages load very fast in Chrome and sometimes it says 'Sending request... ' for ages and nothing happens. I try to load the page again and suddenly it works fine. So that might be a problem with the new router, I think

    Recently I noticed that most of the time when the video is forced to re-buffer again , my iMac is not connected to wifi. Sometimes it will connect again by itself and sometimes I have to tell it to connect to my Wifi again.

    So , is this my internet or something wrong with my iMac? Im currently streaming video on my MacBook pro which is just a few inches from my iMac and I haven't seen this problem yet.

    Maybe their is something wrong with the Wi-Fi radio in my iMac?

    Hopefully you guys can help me out on this one.
     
  2. bumzo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #2
    I see that you are in the netherlands so you probably don't have the same router, but the one AT&T supplied me will cause this every once in a while to the point where it looses signal from the router and I have to turn off and back on the wifi on my iMac for it to work again. Whenever this starts happening I reset the router and it seems to go away for a month or so. Hope this helps.
     
  3. SXR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    Thanks for the reply! I'll definately look into that. I think I'll just install my old router again , which seemed to work best of all. But , why is this happening? What's up with the ' send request ' all of the sudden , too?
     
  4. Tech Elementz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #4
    First of all, bandwidth has nothing to do with your speed. Bandwidth is the internet cap (if you do), which specifies how much GB's of internet you have per month.

    Second of all, are you using DSL or Cable internet?

    Third of all, have you tried turning your router off for 10 seconds by taking off the AC adapter and putting it back in and seeing if any issues still arise?
     
  5. SXR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    I'm using cable internet. Yes I have tried resetting the router. Didn't help me very much.

    It's weird to this problem does not occur on my MacBook Pro. At least I haven't seen it yet.

    :confused:
     
  6. Tech Elementz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #6
    Have you tried hooking up the iMac via ethernet?
     
  7. SXR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    No. I can't do that , either. The router is downstairs, iMac is upstairs. i don't have a cable that long , and I can't run a cable trough my house.

    Im hoping that when I connect my old Linksys router , this problem will just dissapear.

    And by the way , your help is much appreciated. Thank you for your time.
     
  8. petere001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Lowestoft UK
    #8
  9. SXR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    Thats a great idea. Will look into that. But I'm more interested into restoring it to the way it was, before I got this problem.

    And my iMac just did it again , the wifi disconnected and connected on its own again. My MacBook pro is right next to it and that machine is unaffected and has been streaming live.twit.tv for hours now , no hiccups.

    I hope the WIFI radio in my iMac is not busted..
     
  10. studentmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #10
    My iMac has also been having wireless problems. Every now and then it will disconnect from my wireless and I have to manually connect it again.

    My MacBook Pro and iPhone do not experience this problem, so Apple shall be getting a call in the morning.
     
  11. tommy060289 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #11
    I don't think it anything to do with the machines. I originally had a BT Homehub that dropped everytime I tried to do a time machine backup. I put it down to too much load on router. Bought a 5ghz belkin router and the problem went away and then when I got my iMac the problem reappeared after a while on the belkin router so factory reset that and works fine now.

    I never found out for sure what was causing the issue but I suspect t was the QoS on the router and ive not used it since and all is good so I'd recommend factory resetting your router and if that doesn't work get a better router:)
     
  12. SXR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    Yeah , thanks for the reply man. I think I am going to use my linksys N router again , hopefully that fixed the issue. Like i said, am using the ISP's router at the moment.
     
  13. studentmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #13
    I have had no wireless problems using windows under bootcamp, which suggests this is a problem with the software/drivers, not the internet router.
     
  14. proost macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #14
    Hey - was this problem one of the issues with Lion? Noted in the news today that the update transmitted today was supposed to fix a squirrely wifi issue. I've had the same recently with Lion and my MBP? Installed the update. Will see.
     
  15. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #15
    I had the same thought. On my MacBook wifi would randomly drop out for about 30 seconds and then reconnect. So far I haven't seen it happen yet since the update to 10.7.1 yesterday so hopefully they fixed it.
     
  16. SXR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #16
    I believe it happens less with my linksys router plugged in , but it still happens from time to time. Not sure whats up?
     
  17. Hirakata macrumors 6502

    Hirakata

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #17
    Create a new user and see if it happens while logged in under this new user. I had this issue once years ago. I had no issues under the new user, and after some detective work, discovered it was a widget app that was causing all of the issues. Deleted the widget, and the issue was gone.
     

Share This Page