Wi-fi is more like wi-lie

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by jrok18, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. jrok18 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #1
    sometimes it has the full signal but then when i access the web i get the message that im not connected so wtf? I haven't tried out my 2g yet but im sure they didn't fix the wifi so it would be better,stronger,faster .
     
  2. sgtboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #2
    Have to ask, is it your own personal wifi or are you stealing it from a Neighbour?
     
  3. YodaEXE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #3
    Well, I've had zero problems with the wifi on my 2G Touch, and I routinely connect to several different access points a day. Sounds like it's a personal problem with your wireless to me.
     
  4. jrok18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #4
    Its my but it does it sometimes on my ipod. Anyways If it was my neighbors i don't think my cousins or grandmother would care if i stole their wifi.
     
  5. Ezra12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #5
    So then thats must be it!!! Your getting it from your neighbor.......... Maybe that's why it's not working.... HMMMM I WONDER :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  6. jrok18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #6
    No i said its mine (BUT IF) it was my neighbors i don't think they would mine on behalf they r my cousins and grandmother . But the signals lies when im in a coffee shop ,out in town, Etc .
     
  7. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #7
    The signal that you're trying to access might be protected. Most, if not all, routers have the option to allow a signal to be transmitted, but the internet itself won't be able to be accessed unless it's an 'authorised' machine.
     
  8. ukitali macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #8
    I have a similar problem. I can connect to the network but then when I go to Safari it doesn't work. Sometimes it works when I click on renew lease in the settings.
     
  9. semin28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #9
    I have this problem too. Sometimes I'll have full bars but nothing is loading. And I be on my home wifi the whole time when it does it.
     
  10. jake921660 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    I get this problem occasionally and I have worked out that it is a problem with the modem. The wireless router is working fine but when this happens I usually also have problems at the same time connecting with my computer, which is wired.
     
  11. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #11
    What's your point? You haven't tried it yet.
     
  12. alexdog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #12
    i ALSO have this problem. at my work theres 2 signals without passwords and it says i have full bars and everything it says cannot connect to server. also what does renew lease mean and do?
     
  13. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #13
    Generally if you flick Wi-Fi off and on again it'll be fine. With my router here it sometimes takes upwards of 30 seconds to pull an IP before its ready to actually surf.
     
  14. alexdog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #14
    ill give that a try
     
  15. mgguy macrumors 6502

    mgguy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #15
    This issue was addressed in an earlier thread. Someone pointed out that you can connect fine to a wireless network but still not get on the internet if the network is not currently linked to the internet. In other words, you can pick up a wireless signal that isn't currently connected to the internet.
     
  16. ZuneMan? macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Apple Store
    #16
    I got that message when I hacked into a password-protected network. The password was the same as the network name. :apple:
     
  17. sharp65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #17
    A lot of times my ipod thinks it has a signal and is connected to an access point when it's really not. I can't get it to forget the connection so it "connects" to it every now and then. I just try to ignore it.
     
  18. Bob Chadwick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #18

    Passwords not the only protection available. If they have MAC filtering enabled you'll show attached but get no IP address. Without the IP address, you can't access the Internet.
     
  19. chilihead7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #19
    lol that sucks! you live next to your cousins and grandma...isnt that kinda like everybody loves raymond? lolol:apple:
     

Share This Page