Wi-Fi MacBook Pro Retina 2012 vs iPad Air 2

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by jffluis, Jan 11, 2015.

  1. jffluis macrumors regular

    jffluis

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys, I think I'm having some issues with my rMBP Wifi.
    In the same room with the same Wi-Fi network I got 30+ Mbps in Speedtest.net on iPad Air 2 and I got about 5 or less Mbps in my MBP.
    I think this is not normal, what is happening?
     
  2. DamnDJ macrumors regular

    DamnDJ

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #2
    I'm actually having a similar issue. I have a rMBP and a MacMini, basically sitting next to each other, both on the same 5Ghz network, and both using FileZilla. Connecting to an SFTP server I use, the MBP gets 1-3MB/sec while the MacMini gets 8MB/sec (more if I have multiple transfers going).

    When I use Speedtest.net, my MacMini pins the needle at 120Mbps while the MacBook bounces around, ranging from 40Mbps to 80Mbps. Both are using the same Speedtest server in my area. I understand the Speedtests are not 100% realiable, but the SFTPing speeds on the same server is what bothers me most.

    Only difference is that the Mini is on Mavericks and my MB is Yosemite. Tried removing/remaking the network profile and I even installed the latest 10.1.2 beta. It's baffling me. Tried two different routers (Netgear r7000 and Asus TM-AC1900) . Tried connecting to 2.4. Tried changing the channels, no difference. Not using QoS of any sort.
     
  3. dsemf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    #3
    Is Bluetooth enabled on the rMBP? If so, disable it and redo your tests.
     
  4. jffluis thread starter macrumors regular

    jffluis

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #5
    5 ghz or 2.4 ghz wifi? If it's on 2.4ghz, try switching to 5ghz.
     
  6. jffluis thread starter macrumors regular

    jffluis

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #6
    Im not admin of Wi-Fi network and I think that the router dont support 5Ghz.
     

Share This Page