Wi-Fi: No hardware installed

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BarkingGhost, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. BarkingGhost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta+35 miles
    #1
    i had gotten wieless networking up and running and even got the Samsung wireless printer working. I then shutdown the new i7Mac do run an errand an when i started up again I had no wireless connectivity.

    Using help, I somehow got the wireless indicator back on the Finder bar, but it is reporting No hardware found. Is the i7Mac already dying? Anyone have any suggestions? I already tried restarting twice and no chage.
     
  2. BarkingGhost thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta+35 miles
    #2
    Using the iPad, I went out to the Apple support website and learned of the Apple Hardware Test. Instruction says to restart the Mac ans press and hold the D. I didn't know what to expect, so when the login screen came around I repeated. After the second routine with nothing indicating anything, I logged in and the Wi-Fi was working.

    Pretty buggy for a $2,200 computer.
     
  3. BarkingGhost thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta+35 miles
    #3
    So this morning the problem repeated itself. I restarted once while holding down the D key and that fixed it. I guess you cannot boot without D if you want to use wireless connectivity.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Take it to the Apple Store. That is unacceptable.
     
  5. BarkingGhost thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta+35 miles
    #5
    Apparently I am not the only one experiencing this issue. And if one Googles there are a bunch of threads.

    ----------

    Before I do that, is there a way to do a Time Machine backup to an external drive, and if they replace the unit do a restore to any replacement unit? I have a 3TB USB external drive (Western Digital My Book Essentials) not opened yet.

    And if I do a Time Machine backup, how can I reset this unit to factory defaults to keep personal data out of other people's hands?
     

Share This Page