Wi-Fi Strength Meter

Discussion in 'iPad' started by freewilly, May 1, 2010.

  1. freewilly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #1
    Anyone else have this happen- the wi-fi strength meter seems very inaccurate. I seem to have excellent reception throughout my house, but the strength meter is constantly switching from full strength to no bars at all. But my connection seems to be rock solid- streaming netflix, etc. Seems like the indicator is just flaky.
     
  2. medicscott macrumors 6502a

    medicscott

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    san diego
  3. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #3
    Both my iPad and iPhone do this. It was annoying at first but i just ignore it now.
     
  4. stisdal macrumors 6502

    stisdal

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Try changing the channel your router is broadcasting on. Mine did this until I changed the channel to #10, now I get full strength all the time. It may just be interfirence from something around you.
     
  5. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #5
    I'll give that a shot and let you know.
     
  6. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #6
    No change. Still shows loss of signal for about 3 secs even though i don't.
     
  7. Aduntu macrumors 6502a

    Aduntu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #7
    If possible, using channels 1, 6, or 11 would be your best choice. They are the only channels that do not overlap frequencies. Assuming you're using the 2.4Ghz band.
     
  8. 0101001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
  9. dread macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #9
    I think the iPad and iPhone constantly adjust the signal strength of the wifi chip to conserve battery.
     

Share This Page