Wi-Fi Sync not working!

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by fel10, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. fel10 macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #1
    I did everything I was supposed to. Plug the device in to power, and check the box that asks me if I want to use the wifi sync feature. Anyone else having problems???
     
  2. dojoman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #2
    It's working now after I restart my device. You don't need to plug in to power if you manual sync. Power requires only when it's in sleep mode (auto sync).
     
  3. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #3
    Mine does not work, either. It recognizes the computer, but even when I plug it in it will say it is waiting until the computer is available again.
     
  4. Nachoconqueso macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #4
    You don't need your device plugged into power. I just synced totally cordless on my iPad. Restart iTunes after you've check the box.
     
  5. elohel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #5
    gotta plug it in first, and turn on wifi sync under summary

    dummies

    edit: and yes you can still add songs after you unplug it, tried it, works
     
  6. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    Read the post. He said he did turn it on
     
  7. autrefois macrumors 65816

    autrefois

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the USA
    #7
    Thanks — this worked for me with my iPhone 4. My phone says it needs to be plugged in for it to sync automatically, but after I quit iTunes and started it up again, it now lets me manually sync wirelessly.

    This is how I expected wireless syncing to work. If I wanted to plug my iPhone in, I'd plug it into my computer anyway instead of a power outlet. I want to be able to sync it wirelessly without plugging it in. Not sure why you have to restart iTunes, but hopefully this is a one-time thing and it will work flawlessly in the future.
     
  8. PadJunkie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #8
    I've been experimenting with Wi-Fi sync since the GM was released.

    Unfortunately, it's not very reliable; the sync tends to stall out with both sides grinding to a halt and never recovering. That's true whether you initiate the sync manually or let it happen automatically when you plug the iPad in.

    And as soon as there's any kind of problem, iTunes removes the device from its device list and won't acknowledge it again until you do a wired sync and turn the "sync over Wi-Fi" flag back on by hand.

    I was hoping that the final release of iTunes 10.5 (I'm using the Windows version) would make the feature a bit more usable, but so far the behavior seems about the same.

    Needs more time in the oven...
     
  9. Arien157 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
  10. Arien157 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #10
    ?????
     
  11. Peanut207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #11
    Make sure both devices are using the same wifi signal.
     
  12. Jimi5A1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #12
    So I got my 2 iPhones and iPad 2 to wirelessly sync. But once they have wirelessly synced they don't unmount themselves. Is this normal? Should I be worried about this?
     
  13. Arien157 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #13
    Can I use wireless syncing on leopard? Please respond.
     
  14. Mike84 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #14
    Can someone clarify how this works.

    Do you need to be on the same wifi net work? YES

    Does your phone actually have to be plugged into a power source? Apple says so

    Does your mac/comp have to have iTunes open? Yeah, it seems like it because it doesn't work for me any other way
     
  15. TLewis macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    left coast, US
    #15
    They don't appear to be really mounted. They'll appear there as long as bonjour thinks they exist (which appears to be related to the wifi sync issues that people have).
     
  16. Joe94 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #16
    I think it's supposed to stay mounted. This is what my problem was last night. I was ejecting them and it wouldn't sync. So I plugged into my computer and then unplugged and this time didn't eject. Now wireless syncing works flawlessly :)
     
  17. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #17
    No. You need to have Snow Leopard or Lion for the wi-fi syncing to be available for some reason.
     
  18. Illuminated macrumors 6502a

    Illuminated

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #18
    Can my iMac be asleep for the automatic syncing to work?
     

Share This Page