Wi-fi Sync Question PLEASE HELP!!!

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by kpress3, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. kpress3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #1
    After setting up wi-fi sync, it still isin't working correctly. Can this be because of my router? I have an Apple router. Can someone give me some insight for what I need to do?
     
  2. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    Can you clarify how it isn't working correctly?
     
  3. kpress3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I have the box checked on iTunes, but when I go to do the wi-go sync the box is gray and I can't tap it. I've done everything that the steps say to do.
     
  4. GraphicsGeek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #4
    With your iPhone plugged into the computer, check the box to sync over wifi and the box to sync when it's fist connected. HIT APPLY. Alot of people forget to hit apply. When that's done give it a try. Make sure both are on the same network.
     
  5. Swarick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #5
    dont you also have to be connected to a charger for this to work?
     
  6. GraphicsGeek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #6
    You have to be connected to a charger for it to sync automatically. You can manually sync it anytime you want, plugged in or not, by going to Settings > General > iTunes wifi Sync.
     
  7. kpress3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I know for a fact that I've done that. I've done it more than once. I've made sure to click apply everytime
     
  8. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #8
    Once you have clicked on the "Apply"button you have to close iTunes, then disconnect your iPhone and then re-open iTunes. Your iPhone should appear automatically in the devices section on the left hand side allowing you to sync it wirelessly.
     
  9. kpress3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #9
    I did that, and it still didn't work
     
  10. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #10
    What operating system are you using on your computer?
     
  11. yubbie2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    #11
    Wifi sync broke on all 3 of my devices (iPad2, iPhone4, iPhone4S) when I upgraded them to 5.0.1 (Delta update via OTA)
     
  12. kpress3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #12
    I'm using Windows XP on my computer.....:mad:
     
  13. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #13
    Why?
     
  14. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #14
    Why do you need to question what OS the OP is running. That's not the topic of this thread. :eek: :rolleyes:
     
  15. andyvp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #15
    The xp could have something to do with it. You can't install the iCloud Control Panel on XP.

    My wifi sync works sporadically on Win7. Has come alive lately but when it's having a bad day I just plug in if needed. I've learned not to expect 100% operation 100% of the time in the mixed OS environment. Just gota hope they tighten it up in future updates.
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    According to Apple it is supported on XP.

    Note that Apple seems to be having some server issues at the moment. If that link gives a 404 error then try reloading the page.
     
  17. Since OS-6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia ( it's a State )
    #17
    I had trouble initially, it said it was syncing but wouldnt / didn't. I had also forgotten to press APPLY !
    I did as another reply suggested, restart iTunes. But the one extract step that made it work ( for me ) was to shut down my iPhone and restart it. Then all was good.
     
  18. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #18
    I know, I've synced by iPods and iPhones with a windows xp computer. But I have a windows 7 laptop.

    Anyways, maybe try to reset your network???
     
  19. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #19
    Express or Extreme? If you're on the Extreme, make sure your phone isn't connecting to the Guest network.

    If you're running Windows Firewall (or any other firewall), try disabling that too.
     

Share This Page