Wich CCTV's work well with Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by eljanitor, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. eljanitor macrumors 6502

    eljanitor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #1
    I wasn't to install one of these CCTV camera systems in my house, and look at it from my iPhone, and My Mac. The problem is I had a friend who went to a name brand store and bought a system, only to find out it was only PC, and he couldn't see his cameras from any Apple products.

    What is a good Security camera system that can be installed without contacting an alarm company, that works on Mac and PC? I could really use all the advice that you may have, and I welcome any stories, good and bad that you may have about what you use, and teh pro's and cons.
     
  2. melburstein, Nov 3, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2014

    melburstein macrumors regular

    melburstein

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #2
    I purchased a Q-See (QC-8116-9v-3) CCTV system at Costco. It is made by Dahua which private labels products for a number of companies. This is my first experience with CCTV so there has been a learning curve. The equipment seems solid to me. At 1080P the cameras present a bright, clear and detailed image, day and night. I am sure that the QC-8116 is not as good as systems that cost three times as much. But it works for me.

    Now, here is the good news. The SmartPSS software which comes with the system (download from the Internet) works on my MacBook Pro, iPhone, iPad and Dell PC. I am think that Dahua, or some other company, is the actual developer of the software. It seems to be used by a number of CCTV vendors. Technical Support from Costco Connoisseur is far superior to what Q-See provides. If Costco can't solve a problem they will contact Q-See and they have access to a higher level of support techs. If you have to contact Q-See directly, be prepared for a 90 minute wait in the queue.

    Lastly, I was not able to integrate the Q-See system with my ADT Pulse Home Security System, but this has not been a problem for me.
     
  3. keeper macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #3
    When you say system do you mean full system or IP cameras.

    For Mac you can use security spy for viewing and recording. You can also get an IOS app called remote patrol. The gives full control of the camera to make it active etc, not can also get notifications on the phone when motion is detected and view the footage.

    Very well supported by developer and has a good forum.

    It's MAC only software wise, but has a server with it so you can access from a web browser.

    If you go IP and use DYNDNS you will be able the access from anywhere.
    Camera wise or systems have a look a Hikvision
     
  4. melburstein macrumors regular

    melburstein

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #4
    Speaking for myself, my QC8116 system consists of 9 wired cameras connected to a NVR. I'm not crazy about the SmartPPS software that comes bundled with the system. I would love to find alternative software. What do you recommend? All of those that I tried so far only pick up the webcam from my laptop and I end up looking at my own face staring back at me.
     
  5. blacka4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #5
    what do you use for video capture?
     
  6. SunnyFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #6
    I just ordered a NVR system from Security camera King and now have noticed the web interface uses ActiveX. I think that's going to be a problem. I believe all the Security Camera King Equipment is rebranded Dahua products. I believe that Q-See is a s well so that makes me wonder why Q-see says it's mac compatable but I see no mention of it on the camera King stuff.
     
  7. blacka4, Jan 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2015

    blacka4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #7
    i don't have to think that is going to be a problem I know its going to be a problem. I have a client that runs his stuff and cant do a remote view from my mac at home to check functionality. i have to boot into windows to get it to work

    EDIT** I take that back...he just updated his DVR/NVR this past weekend and I can get it to work in Safari...never used too
     
  8. SunnyFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #8
    What brand/software version NVR?
     

Share This Page