Widgets HelP?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Eric Lewis, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #1
    Ok..so this is the webcam that I want to view

    http://www.gbyc.ca/WebCam/index.shtml

    so whenever i open dashboard..i want the newly refreshed image to be there..

    what can i use? and how do i make that webcam work!?

    thanks
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    You can do this easily in Leopard using WebClip. However, I know of no simple way to make it work in Tiger... unless you know how to program, that is :eek:
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
  4. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #4
    its

    not my webcam..its a nice webcam right near my cottage..its not my webcam! i just want to see it fast..by hitting f12
     
  5. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    Ah right.

    As already said, that is a feature in Leopard where you can create your own Widgets from web content.

    October isn't too far away :p
     
  6. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #6
  7. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #7
    how

    would i get that images constantly changing in the widget> can someone post instructions on what to put in the widget? like in the settings? for that webcam..thanks
     
  8. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #8
    well, the site says "The image is broadcasted from the club towards Lake Huron and updates every 30 seconds, and every 2 minutes at night."

    So you need to set the widget to fetch a new image every 30 seconds. You won't get any better than this as thats how often the camera owner has set :)


    I'll tell you what, why don't i just set it up on my machine, and post a shot of the settings ;)


    ************


    Right, so, set slothcam as you see in the first image, hit the + button and click done, and you should see the the webcam like in the second image :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #9
    thank

    you so much? so will it change then like every
     
  10. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #10
    With those settings it will update every 30 seconds while the dashboard it up. Or when you bring up the dashboard it'll load the new image a second or 2 later :)
     

Share This Page