iPhone Widgets won't work!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by VATwitch, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. VATwitch macrumors newbie

    VATwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    #1
    my widgets won't work, I've installed everything that it says too and even installed other things I've read from here. Nothing is working. I've taken screenshots of what it looks like.
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Any ideas?
    --- Post Merged, Mar 28, 2016 ---
    Please help!
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Are any of these weather/forecast widgets that rely on Yahoo to get their information?

    I ask because some time last week Yahoo killed the API that those widgets use.
     
  3. VATwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    VATwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    #3
    I guess it might be. I'm not sure how to check. Wouldn't the graphics still show up though?
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Not if the graphics are set to load based on the weather condition. If the widget can't get the weather condition because the API is broken it does not know which graphics to load.
     
  5. VATwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    VATwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    #5
    I see, so how can I find widgets that no longer use yahoo API? Seems as though most still attempt to use it or the Dev hasn't updated it to another site.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Yeah, that's the problem right now.

    A lot of these widgets aren't maintained any more, or they come as part of themes that are no longer maintained.

    There's one dev I am aware of that has updated his widget APIs but I don't use his widgets.

    Frankly, I think it's going to come down to new devs making new widgets. Although, Schnedi seems to be popular so perhaps he might update his.

    In short, I don't know.
     
  7. VATwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    VATwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    #7
    Thanks for the replies!
     
  8. Will22 macrumors 65816

    Will22

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #8
    That explains why mine stopped updating.

    Is there any other way around this, how do I get it to use my GPS weather? image.jpeg
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    Someone on reddit mentioned opening the widget code and replacing every instance you find of www.yahooweather.com with www.xml.yahoo.com.

    I tried that with one of my widgets, didn't work. YMMV.

    As to GPS weather…well, Widget Weather 2. It'll handle all that. It works in iOS 9.

    But………the problem is that WW 2 is an all or nothing tweak. Meaning, Location Services will ALWAYS be ON. No matter what settings you use.

    If you can live with that then it works. But if you don't care for your battery being hammered then it's not for you.

    They mention something about it being redesigned, but I've seen no new release.

    Also, it does leave some trace behind when uninstalling. Make sure if you uninstall it that you have shut off access to it in Location Services before you uninstall it. Otherwise, you'll have to reinstall it, do that and then uninstall again. This is because the piece it leaves behind remains in the Location Services list.
     
  10. StarkCity macrumors 6502a

    StarkCity

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #10
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    Yeah, I messed with that the other day. Not working for me.

    Frankly, I'm getting tired of mess that iWidgets seems to be so I'll probably be looking for something different now.
     
  12. StarkCity macrumors 6502a

    StarkCity

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #12
    I feel ya'.... Took me a few tries as well ..... After I got one working I just started copy pasting the entire modified main.js And location.js folders from one widget to another. Some took it, some didn't. Pretty sure June's lock screen builder works. I might mess with that.
     
  13. Will22 macrumors 65816

    Will22

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #13
    I have changed my home screen widget for now and I will just use the lock screen weather for now. image.jpeg
     

Share This Page