Widgets?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Mac 128, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. Mac 128 macrumors 601

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #1
    I don't really need true multitasking on my iPad, but what I would love is the ability to float an app like a calculator on top of an open app. So many times I need to church some numbers on a per doc, or an e-mail, and have to go back and forth between the app I'm in and the calculator app.

    Is the only way to get this kind of functionality to get an iPad that supports split screen?

    It's hilarious that the iPad in many ways is so much like the 128k Mac, even almost a decade after the iPad was released ... The original Mac had so little RAM that only one app could be run at a time, except for the little widget apps in the  Menu, like the calculator -- which was an amazingly useful tool. What happened to such a simple concept? How could the iPad go so long without it?
     
  2. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #2
    I'm failing to see how this would be implemented? Would it constantly be on the screen? Would you have to drag the little calculator around the screen in order to view things that the calculator is hiding, like with FaceTime or PiP? I use split screen when I need the calculator. Bring it up for a few seconds and slide it away when I'm done. No lost screen space.
     
  3. ashindnile macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    #3
    What about calculator widgets in the notification center?
     
  4. Mac 128 thread starter macrumors 601

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #4
    Well it would work pretty much the way it does on the Mac since 1984, and yes like pip or FaceTime. It's a pretty basic concept. So should I put you down in the column for, I'll need to buy an iPad capable of split screen to get this functionality? Because presently mine doesn't support pip or split screen, which is why I'm asking.

    Is there such a thing? You're talking about having the calculator drop down, use it, and swipe it up? That would be better than having to hit the home button and wait to swipe between the apps. But it doesn't really help when I need to add a string of numbers in a doc, besides quicker recall.

    Typically when I do this kind of thing on my Mac, I don't need to see the whole document, just the part where the numbers are, so the floating app window can be adjusted anywhere. FaceTime/pip is too limited in my ability to position it on the screen. These widgets should be moveable anywhere, and float there until I dismiss them.
     
  5. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #5
    Search the App Store for "Calculator Widget" if you think a Notification Center widget might be good.

    On the Mac you can put the Calculator (basic) in the Notification Center's "Today" view.
     
  6. Zirel Suspended

    Zirel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    #6
    Do you own a recent iPad?

    It's called slide-over.

    Slide from the right to left, select the app, and to return to the main App, just tap outside the slide-over window. (split screen is only activated when you press on the margins of the slide-over window.

    I use that for the calculator.
     
  7. pacorob, Apr 4, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016

    pacorob macrumors 65816

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #7
    There are various calculator widgets for iDevices to use from the Notification Center. See the widget topic for a few of them e.g. PCalc / PCalc Lite (free), tinyCalc, Calc, Calculator Widget, WidgetCalc, Widgets with calculator, Widgets Pro, OneWidget, Wdgts, Widgets., Widgets.

    What kind of iPad do you have? I'm using Slide Over with my iPad mini2 sometimes to also get this to work with various apps for calculators you e.g. have the option to use PCalc / PCalc Lite (free), The Calculator Free, Calculator Pro for iPad. Unfortunately I don't have Split View on my iPad either (that is supported as of the mini4, Air 2, iPad Pro).
     
  8. Mac 128 thread starter macrumors 601

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #8
    Thanks. I'm using an iPad 3, and I'm pretty sure it doesn't do Slide Over. I think the Airs and recent minis are the lowest iPads that do?
     
  9. pacorob macrumors 65816

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #9
    Yup:
    - Split View: only possible on iPad Air 2, iPad mini4 and iPad Pro
    - Slide Over: only possible on iPad Air, iPad Air 2, iPad mini 2, iPad mini 3 or iPad mini 4 and iPad Pro
     

Share This Page