WiFi 2.4ghz shows up before 5ghz

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by rstark18, Dec 29, 2016.

  1. rstark18 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #1
    Something that has annoyed me for a while is that on my home network when I open WiFi in Settings, both of my 2.4ghz networks show instantly and my two 5ghz networks take up to 5 seconds to show up. There are no conflicts within the network setups (channels) and all four SSID's are named differently.
    This happens on all of my iOS devices.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. addamas macrumors 6502

    addamas

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
  3. rstark18 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #3
    I have a few devices that use the 2.4 (printer, etc.). Regardless even if I turn the 2.4 off it still takes some time for the 5ghz to populate in settings.
    The reason it annoys me is I have one router for the front half of the house and one for the back half. Sometimes my device is still hanging on to the other ssid and I have to manually switch over.
     
  4. addamas macrumors 6502

    addamas

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    #4
    I wrote it wrong. On devices you want only 5GHz WiFi forget 2,4GHz WiFi, then they will only connect to right one. Other devices let connect to 2,4GHz. Since they have different Network names (SSID) it will be easy. Go to WiFi settings and forget network

    I also had this problem with my local network, for some reason iPhone wanted to connect to 2,4GHz only when there was 5GHz one with same SSID.
     
  5. rstark18 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #5
    They are forgotten on my iOS devices. They are not connecting to the 2.4 it's just that in the list of available networks the 2.4 populates the list instantly whereas the 5 takes 5 seconds or so.
     
  6. deano1972 macrumors 6502a

    deano1972

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Interesting.. both my 2.4 and 5ghz show up almost instantly at the same time when I turn wifi on on my iPhone
     
  7. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    If you are in another room or a few feet away from the WiFi router the 5GHz will be a weaker signal and can take more time to connect. 5GHz is mostly only useful in the same room or line of sight of the WiFi router.
     
  8. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    That has basically been my experience as well.
     
  9. IowaLynn macrumors 65816

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #9
    Would assigning different channels or looking for interference help?
     
  10. deano1972 macrumors 6502a

    deano1972

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    While its range is weaker than 2.4ghz if you need to be in the same room or line of site you may need a better router. I can get a decent signal in other rooms from my router on the 5ghz band
    Cheers
    --- Post Merged, Dec 30, 2016 ---
    Absolutely .. using a clear channel always helps
     
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    It can also depend on building materials and things if that nature. It's certainly known that 5 GHz penetration/range isn't as good as that of 2.4 GHz.
     
  12. sinatik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #12
    Thanks, whenever I come home my iphone always connected to the 2.4, so I always had to check and reconnect to the 5 GHz. I did the forget for the 2.4 and now it always connects to 5G. Such a simple solution that I didn't think about.
     
  13. RansZ28 macrumors regular

    RansZ28

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ
    #13
    As my AW series 0 only has 2.4, that got me is a priority.
     
  14. CobraPA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lansdale, PA, USA
    #14
    You can attach to 2.4G on the phone so that the watch learns it, then attach to 5G on your phone. Watch will continue to use 2.4G that way.
     
  15. RansZ28 macrumors regular

    RansZ28

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Gilbert AZ
    #15
    But if I forget 2.4 then the AW will forget it too. iPhone will pick up whatever is strongest
     
  16. planetf1 macrumors 6502

    planetf1

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #16
    There are also rules for 5GHz networking certainly on the higher channels which can delay availability for minutes
     
  17. rstark18 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #18
  18. rstark18 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #19
  19. planetf1 macrumors 6502

    planetf1

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #20
    I guess it depends on router... Existence of signals... And country rules?

    Certainly I get a delay on higher channels using a bt hh5a in the uk.
     
  20. perezr10 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Location:
    Monroe, Louisiana
    #21
    FYI, if you were to upgrade to a "mesh network" type of system like the eero there is no separate 2.4 or 5ghz networks. You only see one network and your device gets the fastest possible speed. Not having separate 2.4 and 5ghz networks is one of the best attributes of a mesh network.
     
  21. Paco II macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #22
    Shouldn't any router support that? If you use the same SSID for both 2.4 and 5, the device will use the 'better' signal and switch accordingly? That is what appears to happen with my network.

     
  22. winterny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #23
    Yes.
     
  23. deano1972 macrumors 6502a

    deano1972

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #24
  24. rstark18 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #25
    I tried 36 (I was on 157) and didn't see any difference in delay. I'm in the US so neither of those channels are DFS anyway. I'm still on my quest to figure out why this is happening. Sane results from a Linksys e3000 and an Asus RT-N66U.
     

Share This Page