wifi assist - sneaky buggers

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by vexorg, Sep 28, 2015.

  1. vexorg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #1
    For those not aware, by default IOS9 has "wifi assist" switched on. That means it'll use your mobile data if it thinks your wifi is too slow.

    Not good if you have limited mobile data.
     
  2. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Sante Fe, Azuza, Cucamonga
    #2
    How do you turn if off?

    Edit: it's an option in cellular settings. Interesting point, op. Thanks.
     
  3. AndyK macrumors 65816

    AndyK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #3
    Settings > Mobile Data.
     
  4. papashaun macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #4
    Settings - Mobile Data - then scroll all the way down to the bottom and is there as a toggle
     
  5. TheNormsk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    I discovered the same over the weekend. Our family plan typically consumes 3GB per month. We have a 6GB plan and I was actually thinking of downgrading the plan to 4GB as we never use the data. On Saturday, I found out that my phone in the 5 days since iOS9 came out has burned through 16GB of data. That's a massive 10GB over plan and we are only a week into it.

    Investigating I found the wifi assist. The labeling of this is misleading and the fact that this is turned on by default will mean that many people are probably blowing through their data without realizing thinking that they are on wifi.

    Apple needs to fix this by switching off the option as default and having it as a opt-in.

    I need to talk to Verizon as I will be disputing this overage.
     
  6. perkedel macrumors 6502a

    perkedel

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #6
    so what's your wifi speed at home, that ios thinks slow?
    there's got to be a built-in threshold in it.
     
  7. cableguy84 macrumors 6502a

    cableguy84

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Location:
    Essex
    #7
    I have ulimited data i aint turning that **** off
     
  8. LxHunter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #8
    I like this feature.
    Often find WiFi hanging onto a nearly dead connection
     
  9. TheNormsk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    My Wifi at home is 25/5. This weekend I was away in a motel though. I think their wifi in not great and I was watching video. I think I went through 4-5GB just this weekend. But even at home, I have consumed another 4-5GB in a few days and it should have no issue with the Wifi.

    I think the wifi assist may be a little over eager to use cellular data.
     
  10. perkedel macrumors 6502a

    perkedel

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #10
    that's interesting. well i turned mine off just to be safe. i notice a slight .5gb increase on mine, as i usually use about 1gb monthly since i have wifi everywhere i go.
     
  11. Salvor Hardin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    #11
    Funny how they enable this by default but still won't allow cellular to download apps/updates over 100MB.
     
  12. JT2002TJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #12
    I have had mine switched off from day 1. I still find that it is assisting me, even with it off... This is going to be a MAJOR problem...
     
  13. e93to macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13
    Has anyone tried disabling cellular data for apps that can consume lots of data (App Store, YouTube, Skype, etc)?
     
  14. EdgardasB macrumors 6502a

    EdgardasB

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Location:
    Lithuania
    #14
    Apple made big mistake, by enabling this feature by default.
     
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    How are you seeing that it is assisting you?
     
  16. vexorg, Sep 28, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2015

    vexorg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #16
    My problem is that the wifi our house is ok in some areas, and poor in other. So I set up a spare router in the other end that has poor wifi. The problem is that the iPhone hangs on to the poor signal like death. Usually I have to force the network to change manually. It's not so much the speed, it's the connection strength. I only have 1Gb of data. Outside of wifi I only need emails, so it's never been a problem. This could easily eat up 1Gb if I wasn't aware.

    The very least is it should pop up and say bad connection, do you want to use mobile data?

    (edit:typo :D )
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    I think people might be overestimating how much of a role this might be playing in most situations. It's possible there is some issue with it or some isolated situations might result in more unexpected usage, but I'm not necessarily sure that the additional usage some people have been seeing after updating (which happens to people after updates even those from before iOS 9 where this assist wasn't available) is directly related to this particular functionality.
     
  18. MyManD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    #18
    Showerthought: If wif-fi assist being on by default affects enough people and unexpectedly forces them to go over their data caps, would there be enough cause of a class action lawsuit?

    This could potentially cost consumers money.
     
  19. TheNormsk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    Okay, now I am confused. My phone was saying that I had used 16GB in the last period. However, checking data usage on Verizon's site states I've only used 1.33GB. So perhaps this is not such an issue after all. Now to figure out why my phone is reporting high usage?
     
  20. perkedel macrumors 6502a

    perkedel

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #20
    you need to reset the usage on the phone on the billing cycle when it resets your usage. if not, you'll see what you see now.
     
  21. TheNormsk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Location:
    Colorado
    #21
    I though that was supposed to reset automatically each cycle.
     
  22. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #22
    I think this option is off by default isn't it?
     
  23. perkedel macrumors 6502a

    perkedel

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #23
    the phone doesn't know your billing cycle, but verizon does. i have to clear my usage on the iphone to match my TMo counter on their site.
     
  24. TheNormsk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Location:
    Colorado
    #24
    No it's on by default.
     
  25. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #25
    hmm wonder why mine is off.
     

Share This Page