Wifi Booster?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Illuminated, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. Illuminated macrumors 6502a

    Illuminated

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #1
    So the apartment complex I live in offers free wifi, but the wifi goes in and out in certain parts of my apartment. I was thinking. Would a wifi booster help alleviate the poor connectivity? The problem I think is that the wifi network has a log-in page that you just have click to agree in-order to connect.

    I was thinking of one of two wifi boosters:

    Wifi Booster 1

    Wifi Booster 2

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Sparticu$ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #2
    One booster would work fine. You definitely don't want string repeaters off of each other. If you are looking to add multiple repeaters you would need to set them up as access points which you can only do if you have Ethernet ports in your apartment. It should have any issue even though it requires a log in. I used to use a repeater in my dorm.
     
  3. Illuminated thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Illuminated

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #3
    I only want one, but sure which would work better. Would these work with a wifi log-in page?
     
  4. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    I use an Alfa R36 repeater/router in my RV to connect to weak campground access points. I connect a higher power USB access point (Alfa AWUS036H )to it with a high gain, directional antenna. This gets me a private network where I can connect wired and wireless devices and it only looks like one connection to the access point. Useful at locations that only provide a single connection or single login.
     
  5. Illuminated thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Illuminated

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #5
    So if the network requires you to click on a "accept the terms and login" button, these boosters will work?
     
  6. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    Yes. The first computer to connect gets the message and the login screen. None of the others get the login screen since they are seen as the same device - the IP and MAC address come from the repeater, not your computer.

    We were at one location that had a paid service for usable Internet access. It only allowed one login at a time. With my repeater I was able to use all the devices on the one login.
     
  7. Illuminated thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Illuminated

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #7
    Great thanks! I will purchase one of these things tomorrow!
     

Share This Page