WIFI Calling IOS Beta 13A4325c

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Klaatu63, Aug 7, 2015.

  1. Klaatu63 macrumors regular

    Klaatu63

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I installed the current IOS 9.0 Public beta 13A4325c and I do not have the option for WIFI calling. I do have Dial Assist but that is the opposite of WIFI calling. Am I missing something?
     
  2. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    It's only on iPhone 5c, 5s, 6, and 6 Plus

    You also need to be on either T-Mobile, Sprint, AT&T, or EE as your carrier.
     
  3. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
  4. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    What device and what carrier do you have?
     
  5. Klaatu63, Aug 7, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2015

    Klaatu63 thread starter macrumors regular

    Klaatu63

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    I have an iPhone 5s and AT&T is my carrier. I know that AT&T is not supporting WIFI calling yet - but I would think that I would still have the option to turn the feature ON?

    Nvm
     
  6. Klaatu63 thread starter macrumors regular

    Klaatu63

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    Thanks
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    Why would you have the option if the carrier doesn't support it?
     
  8. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #9
    I'm on AT&T on a 6 Plus and it has the option even though it isn't available yet.
     
  9. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
  10. Klaatu63 thread starter macrumors regular

    Klaatu63

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    I do not think that you fully understand my question. We all agree that AT&T does not currently support WIFI calling. But the option should be available to turn the feature ON. And if the feature is not yet available you should receive a message, as mention by an earlier post, telling you that it has not been implemented.
     
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    I know that it's there in the recent beta, but since it's not enabled it kind of makes the option useless really.
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    Carrier options don't usually work that way. Generally when a carrier supports something then the option is available, otherwise it's usually not there. In the case of the recent iOS 9 beta they added it, but it doesn't do anything, so it doesn't seem to be of much use, and for general users it would likely cause confusion and perhaps some issues on some level as they would think something isn't working for them and start tying up lines with customer care to figure out why that's the case or when it would be finally working (as opposed to not even seeing the option and not realizing that it's something that could be available to them at some point).
     
  13. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    So why he is not seeing it when his devices supports the feature and he's on the correct carrier + there are other people seeing it on the same device. Of course it's not actually working yet, but that's irrelevant.
     
  14. xero9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #15
    What I'm curious about is why an update was required for this to work with AT&T.. We've been hoping Rogers here in Canada would have rolled it out by now and this entire time I thought Rogers just needed to get their **** together with stuff on the backend and roll out a new carrier settings update with the server settings..

    I guess the chance of additional carriers supporting wifi calling is less likely.
     
  15. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    Because the toggle for it needed to be added for it and I guess that's on Apple.
     
  16. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #17
    Why is the iPhone 5 not included in the list? The 5C is essentially the same hardware as the 5 in a different case.
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #18
    One of the few differences is related to the radio chip used with 5c using a newer one that also supports make bands. (Might be related to cellular via WiFi functionality in some way.)
     
  18. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    The 5c was released a year after the 5 as well
     
  19. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #20
    It maybe pointless but it hasn't been there for ANYONE on AT&T before. The understanding is that it will finally be available if your area supports it (apparently it's trivial for networks to add support).
     

Share This Page