WiFi connection issues

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Eric8199, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. Eric8199 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys, I have been having issues with my iPod Touch and connecting to WiFi. At home I have no problem, but at other hotspots, frequently it will show that it is connected with full bars in the settings, but at the top of the screen it shows no bars, and when I try to go online, it says it's not connected. I don't understand, if it says it's connected, how it then ISN'T connected.

    Anyone have an issue with this? As I said, at home I have zero problems, it connects no problem and never disconnects.
     
  2. Mew2468 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the 2010 Winter Games
    #2
    The iDevices do that. When you first connect to a router, it instantly says it's full bars (in the little blue icon) even though it might actually be 2, 1, etc.
     
  3. newtype2011 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #3
    This is exactly what is happening to my 2nd Gen iPod Touch; first connects with 3 bars, then promptly drops to 1 after a minute or two.

    Is there any remedy for this? In my home network, it has never done this before and now it will connect and not allow me to use the internet at full reception.

    Before anyone suggests that it may be my network, everything else is working flawlessly on my home wifi connection:

    PSP
    3 Wifi-equipped Nokia devices
    Laptop
    USB Connected Computer

    Any tips at all would be extremely useful.
     
  4. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #4
    Its probably the hotspot.

    A lot of hotspots require they're own login and you have to open up a blank browser page in order to log in after registering.

    Your device will show connected because you can connect to that hotspot, but you have no internet because you need to log in through the hotspots portal.


    This is my guess by the sounds of what you describe and would be the most logical reason why it works at home and not elsewhere.
     

Share This Page