WiFi connection not working correctly

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by OdevaMack, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. OdevaMack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #1
    i just recently purchased an ipod touch.
    and i need help with the wifi

    it works everywhere else, except for my house
    it says it connects to the router, and it has a wireless connection, but i cant do anything, like it wont let me on the internet.

    and i know the wirelss internet works, because my computers wireless and so it works fine.

    and please please keep it simply, im not computer smart at all.
     
  2. Jackelbox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #2
    well i think your problem is that you arnt getting an ip adress... im not sure how to fix it though sorry i couldnt be more help but ask about ip adresses and such and im sure you will find your answer
     
  3. OdevaMack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #3
    well it tells me all the ip address, subnet mask, router, and DNS, but idk if they are right or even what to set them as, well the only one i can change is the DNS
     
  4. Jackelbox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #4
    oh well then i dont know... sorry but sometimes when im at a hotel of something like that and they have wifi without a lock, a "login menu" pops up... maybe look for that or just try and fiddle around with it...
    thats all i can think of... sorry im not more help :(
     
  5. rabbisound macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #5
    reset your router but don't HIT THE RESET button infact never hit the RESET button, instead take the power cable out for a minute plug in then see if the touch sees it and works - also try deleting it from the wi-fi list in the touch then manually entering the name and password etc.
     
  6. OdevaMack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #6
    rabbisound_
    ive tried that a billon times lol
     
  7. elpmas macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
  8. OdevaMack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
  9. mugsysam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #9
    what are you using for security mode in the router setup i.m running wpa personal on my router i was have i problem with my wifi on my ipod touch and changed it to this setting and it works fine now
     
  10. metalhead777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #10
    That could solve it, althought my WiFi is a non secure network. :eek: :apple:
     
  11. OdevaMack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #11
    it says im using wpa2, what do i change it to?
     
  12. mugsysam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #12
    hey odevamack


    in the router setup under the wireless security tab try setting your setting to this !!!


    security mode : wpa personal

    encryption : tkip

    passphrase : this is the password to your wireless connection

    key renewal : 3600

    i hope this helps if not you can email me and i will try to help you 1 on 1 i'm new to this forum and it takes to long to get info back .but when i get a reply back it is always helpful

    tommycat629@yahoo.com
     
  13. metalhead777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #13
    I would take off security altogether and see if that works. Hope this helps you! :) :apple:
     

Share This Page