Wifi disconnects constantly

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by louiselbest, Dec 10, 2013.

1. louiselbest macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

When I'm writing this post my wifi has disconnected more than twice !
    It looks like it disconnects my mac constantly approximately every 10 minutes !

This wifi router that I'm connected to is a router that I set up manually to receive wifi from the Virgin box. It worked fine for the first month but now since 2 weeks it keeps disconnecting me, and weirdly enough this only happens on my Mac (running OSx 10.6, yeah I know, an ancestor ^^ ), on my iphone 5 it works perfectly.

Can someone help me out here, I'm a student and I need some help to continue my studies properly !

Thank you guys for the help.

2. WildCard^ macrumors regular

Can you take your macbook someplace that has free wifi, and tell us if the problem happens there too?

-WC-

3. louiselbest thread starter macrumors newbie

Yeah i've tried it with the main wifi and it works perfectly !

4. WildCard^ macrumors regular

Okay, well, if your Macbook works on your main wifi but not your other - the problem might be with the other wifi. Where is the other wifi? Is it someplace that is very busy?

I've been busy places that had more users than it could handle, and it would bump people off or refuse users randomly.

5. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

Describe your hardware, e.g. model numbers. What's a Virgin Box?

6. boast macrumors 65816

boast

Can you use your smartphone with some wifi scanner/analyzer app to see how congested your radio space is?

7. WildCard^ macrumors regular

Are there any iOS apps that do that? I read somewhere that Apple banned all those apps due to their hacking functionality. Android has amazing options to analyze wifi.

I can't wait for the OP to come back and explain her setup. By her report, it's a router she setup to connect to receive wifi from a 'virgin' box.