Wifi either not connecting or keeps shutting off?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ballpark1313, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. ballpark1313 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #1
    I have a 32gb 3G and wifi iPad. First time taking it on a business trip. This things won't connect to half of the wifi networks in hotels. Today, I am sitting in a wifi hotspot. The iPad says it is connected to the network and shows 3 bars in the upper left hand corner but when I go to load something I get the "cannot open page not connected to the Internet"

    The iPad works great at home. I got the unlimited 3G plan but was hoping to shut that off with so many wifi hotspots around. Is this the iPad or is this a result of the apple software and will get fixed when their little update comes out?
     
  2. arubinst macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Lausanne - Switzerland
    #2
    I'm sorry to be the one to tell you this... but get ready for some flaming for posting a new thread on this subject...
     
  3. BruiserBear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #3
    Prepare for some Apple fanboys/knowitalls telling you it might be a problem with the "networks" you're having trouble with.


    The real answer is that the iPad has some real problems with it's wifi reception. It's likely these problems are software in nature, and therefore can be fixed with a firmware update that Apple says it is working on.

    It's been 3 months since the iPad and Apple is taking a long time to get this update out there. Let's hope it's sooner rather than later.
     
  4. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #4
    This may not be the same issue as the general wifi problem. My husband had this problem at a hotel recently, and I had a similar experience at a Starbucks prior to their new service starting on July 1st. In both cases, we were able to connect through Atomic's browser spoofing another browser, such as Firefox, but couldn't connect using Safari. Same thing, the bars would show, but we couldn't actually do anything until we completed a login in process that Safari couldn't even display. Some hotspots are just that way; I've had that same thing crop up with my iPhone.

    His iPad doesn't have the wifi issue, mine does (although it's suddenly dropped to only giving me errors every couple of days--down from multiple times daily. No idea why.) Using another browser might be worth a shot.
     
  5. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    #5
    Did you make it through the login process for the hotel's wifi connection?
    Also as stated above some hotels have problems with safari for logging in.
     
  6. BlackMax macrumors 6502a

    BlackMax

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    I have the exact same model iPad as you and have also experienced varying degrees of success with WiFi. There are several long threads on this topic already and evidentially there is an issue with the iPad WiFi stability and performance on some WiFi networks. The general consensus is that the problem is a driver issue on the iPad itself and that Apple will hopefully have a fix for it shortly.
     
  7. Angryipadguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #7
    What you have to do is update the firmware on the router at the hotel or hotspot you are using. Then if that don't work you have to stand in the dark and turn screen brightness down to 1/3rd. If that don't work you then have to turn your iPad at a 33.29 degree angle and then after 15.8 seconds rotate to 76.29 degrees. This only works in in temperature is between 75-78f.

    It just works
     
  8. ballpark1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #8
    I had to resort to 3G and didn't have time to look through all the other threads. Thanks for the help everyone.

    Some hotels like the Hilton I am in now I had no problem getting through on wifi and their log in screen. I figured it was a problem with the wifi on this iPad. The two laptops next to me had no problem connecting to the wifi earlier while mine kept telling me I wasn't connected to the Internet.

    I've tried a lot of the fixes in the other forums without success. I did do a hard reset and it connected for about 30 seconds and then said nit connected to the Internet again. Looks like I gotta wait for the update like everyone else.
     
  9. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #9

    MAGICAL!



    I too had a problem out in the wild. One day i could connect at a local business, but a few days later i could not. I tried everything. Then I turned on 3G.
     

Share This Page