Wifi Help Please?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Johnny-AUS, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. Johnny-AUS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys, I'll try best to outline my problem:

    I own a 16gb iPod Touch.
    I have an unsecured (100%) Wifi Connection in my home.
    Every Wifi device I have ever owned has had no problem what so ever automatically connecting to my network.
    My iPod has no problem what so ever recognising my wifi connection (Full signal strength.

    The problem?

    Whenever I click on my Network it does not connect.

    It says:

    "Unable to join the network 'dlink'" (*dlink being my network name)

    Now I'm not that fantastic with computers, but I am really lost here. I have tried typing things in manually but with no luck. I not even 100% sure I should be inserting what.

    Here is a list of all my Wifi settings I can find: (Please help)

    WAN

    Connection Type: DHCP Client
    Cable Status: Connectel
    Network Status: Established
    MAC Address: 00:19:5B:52:3C:14
    IP Adress: 10.0.0.1
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 10.0.0.138
    Primary DNS Server: 10.0.0.139
    Secondary DNS Server: 0.0.0.0

    LAN

    MAC Address: 00:19:5B:52:3C:13
    IP Adress: 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    DHCP Server: Enabled

    WIRELESS LAN

    Wireless Radio: On
    MAC Address: 00:19:5B:52:3C:13
    Network Name (SSID): dlink
    Channel: 4
    Security Type: None

    Any advice?
     
  2. DaveTaylor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    #2
    Turn the router on and off and check via the internal IP address you don't have to assign the application to be allowed on the network...
     
  3. TonyHoyle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    Have you forced 802.11b? I believe iphone will only join an 802.11g network.

    What model of dlink is it?

    Oh, and once it's working for your own sake setup a password... you don't *know* that the guy parked in the car outside isn't downloading kiddie porn using your connection. and you don't want to find out.
     
  4. Johnny-AUS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #4


    Thanks for the replies already.

    The model is: dlink DIR-635


    Where do I go to find out if it's 802.11g & how would I change it if it isn't?
     
  5. Johnny-AUS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #5

    Dave I feel like an idiot :p

    Thanks alot for the simplest advice: "Turn the router on and off" :rolleyes:

    It fixed the problem......Thanks!

    Now if only I could get the last 3 hours of my life back :D
     
  6. DaveTaylor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    #6
    The router probably couldnt assign the new application or computer if you wish i use to have this issue
     

Share This Page