WiFi ISP failed on Retina Display :(

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shervinvan, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. shervinvan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    First of, I'm sorry if this issue has been addressed before but I took a quick look and could not find anything on this.

    I am a new Mac convert, been using PC since day one and only got my first Mac 3 days ago. I got the new Macbook Pro with Retina Display (2.3/16/256). I have an issue with my Wi-fi it seems like every 5-10 minutes my internet connection goes down. The Wi-Fi bar on my macbook pro shows full bars and I'm only about 4-5 meters from my router.

    I went into Network settings and ran the diagnostics, My ISP seems to fail everytime in that test and the only solution seems to be to turn off wi-fi and to turn it back on again (or to do a manual restart)... after doing either of those the internet works for a few minutes and then loading any webpage in Safari or Chrome does NOT work again. I've verified that the problem is not with signal strength or my router as I am able to connect to the net using Wi-Fi on my iPhone, on an older PC Laptop running Windows 7 and also on my PS3. The problem is with the laptop :(

    I thought things were just supposed to "just work" with Apple... not too sure what is going on but for spending $2400 on a laptop this is a really dumb problem to be having and has somewhat tarnished my views of Apple.

    Please keep in mind i'm very new to Apple and do not have too much experience with the OS (I am a recently graduated electronics engineer though so i know basic stuff)... I'm running OSX Lion that came with the Macbook Pro and the only program i've installed so far is Chrome. I was pretty much having this issue within an hour or two of unboxing my macbook pro :(

    I would appreciate the help, and sorry if the question has been asked before.:confused:
     
  2. njean777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #2
    Well as a IT major you should know that some routers do not like to play nice with certain devices. It most likely is your router, because I have the same problem at my friends house, but never have it anywhere else. Try a new router and see if that fixes the issue, if you do not want to do that, then you could exchange the macbook pro for another and you most likely will run into the same problem. You can also change the channel and see if that helps also.
     
  3. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #3
    Please try this for a start.
    goto system preferences -> network -> select wifi -> goto the wheel icon next to + and - and set wifi first in the list at set service order option.


    then goto advanced button -> wi-fi -> and set your preferred wireless network at top.

    Hope this will solve your problem.
     
  4. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #4
    There's a slight difference between "It just works" and "It just works all the time"

    Seriously though, tech can have problems, be it Apple, Acer or Microsoft. If you're having problems give Apple a call or bring it into a store, that's certainly unusual behavior and would have it looked at. (Additionally you're using Rev 1 hardware which has more problems that established hardware lines).

    I'd also try removing your network (under system preferences) and add it back it.
     
  5. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #5
    Unrealistic expectations aren't Apple's fault. I'm not sure why people seem to love to parrot the "just work" meme. Problems happen with any tech brand and and engineers (especially electronics) should know that.

    How about some more details on your router and WiFi setup? What exactly happens when you lose internet connectivity? The bars really don't mean much. Can you still connect to the router itself or anything else on your network? Have you run a ping or traceroute to see if you can get beyond the router at all?
     
  6. shervinvan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #6
    Hey guys,

    thanks for all the replies, I will try your suggestions when I get home from work, and will update you on the situation. I appreciate your help:)
     

Share This Page