Wifi issue with 3.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by arram, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. arram macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #1
    I restored my phone with an unactivated att sim card and used redsnow.. so i can get push notifications... ultrasnow worked fine with my tmobile sim. Now wifi takes a long time to pick up my router. It use to pick it up instantly. Now it doesnt even connect to it and its really annoying. Is anyone else having this problem? If i knew 3.0 was going to drain my battery,have no wifi, i would of never updated geez :-\
     
  2. arram thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #2
    i did a complete restore again and now im on stock 3.0 and wifi doesnt pick up anything :( .. i reseted network settings and still nothing... can any 1 help me out
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Thats weird.
    Did you test it out on a few different wifi routers?
    It might be a router problem not allowing the iphone with 3.0 to connect.
     
  4. arram thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #4
  5. PRESSGANG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    UK and Spain
    #5
    wifi

    I am still on 2.2 but when I updated I had the same problem. My solution was to change the encryption on the router to WEP64 and to fix the IP address of the phone. It now connects immediately.
    Barry:D
     
  6. arram thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #6
    mine is already on wep64, but what do u mean by fixing the IP?
     
  7. PRESSGANG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    UK and Spain
    #7
    IP address

    You can either use DHCP (auto downloaded IP address) e.g. 192.168.1.20
    or change the last number to say 40 and click on 'static' this 'fixes' the IP address. But make sure that whatever number you use is NOT used elsewhere on your network.
    :D
     

    Attached Files:

  8. finatk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #8
    Thank god for that, thought it was just me. Since updating to 3.0 the wifi keeps dropping in areas where i had previously had it working fine, and searching and connecting takes soo much longer now.

    Hope apple get 3.1 Hot Fix out soon!! :eek:
     
  9. PRESSGANG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    UK and Spain
    #9
    wifi

    I was only referring to my home network. I do not have G3.
     

Share This Page