Wifi issues rearing its ugly head again

Discussion in 'iPad' started by timotheezz, May 9, 2010.

  1. timotheezz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    4/3/2010 I bought a 16gb wifi iPad from best buy. I had wifi issues -- forgetting password and asking to connect to network.

    2 weeks later, from reading this thead I learned that if I changed my verizon fios's settings from WEP to WPA, it would fix the issues. AND IT DID. no longer did I have to re-enter a password or re-select the wifi network again.

    the past few days however, it's been asking me to choose the network again. ugh. it's not as bad as forgetting the password, but still a nuisance nonetheless.

    are any of you suffering from similar issues? random problems after a few good weeks of trouble-free wifi bliss? lastly, if I take it into the apple store, will they issue me a new one?
     
  2. timotheezz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. jgeist1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #3
    I had this problem the entire time. I bought another router until I realized I couldn't fully replace my Fios router. So I returned that...

    I ended up just making my password easier to type.

    It sucks
     
  4. diabolic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #4
    Looking at some of the other threads, it sounds like there is a problem that is specific to the fios router and iPad. I don't think replacing the iPad will make a difference. Hopefully there will be a software fix soon.
     
  5. iSingandiDance macrumors 6502a

    iSingandiDance

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #5
    I also have FiOs and sometimes it asks me for the password not five minutes after leaving iPad idle. Sometimes it doesn't.

    Last night, however, it happened again. I fell asleep, awoke this morning and was connected. I'm quite positive I didn't key the password in during sleep.

    When I'm over my sister's her wifi immediately recognizes iPad and there are no connectivity issues.

    Still, the speed of FiOs is worth a few drops here and there.
     
  6. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #6
    I have a fios router as well and don't have the forgetting password issue (though I used to with my Macbook Air), but occasionally it will drop my wifi connection and ask to join a network again. I just tap on my network and immediately connect again. I know you're looking for solutions, but I'm pretty sure its not your ipad, but the router.

    What happened to the days when we were just given a modem and had the ability to easily hook up our own wireless router? Now we're stuck with these stupid modem/router combos its ridiculous!
     
  7. H00513R macrumors 6502a

    H00513R

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #7
    I have had a couple of those problems, but it's been more of the router/modem than the iPad. It is annoying, but not a deal breaker.
     
  8. PhoneI macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #8

    You don't have to replace the entire Fios router. Turn wireless off on the Fios Router. Plug a new WiFi router into the Fios. On the new router, turn wireless on. You should be good. However, I bet Apple will put out an update very soon.
     
  9. timotheezz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    It's not my router. My roommate just purchased a 64gb last Thursday, and he just confirmed to me that he has had ZERO wifi issues. He entered the password once, and that was it.

    I, on the other hand, have had the 'choose network' pop-up menu every now and then for the past few days.

    Is it worth it to bring it back to an Apple store and see what can be done? Clearly, if *I'm* having issues and my roommate isn't ... it can be assumed that there is an issue with my particular iPad?
     
  10. JimKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #10
    It is your router

    There is a reason Apple sells routers.

    I have absolutely no wifi issues since launch.
     
  11. timotheezz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    If it's my router, then why isn't my roommate suffering from any wifi issues on his iPad? We connect to the same network.
     
  12. Joe826 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #12
    Same thing here. Wifi worked fine for the first couple weeks, now everytime my iPad sleeps it loses the network connection and I have to reconnect manually when I turn the screen back on.

    Those saying it's a router issue are hilarious. If it's a router issue, why do my laptop, desktop, and phone manage to stay connected? Clearly a flaw on Apple's part. Hoping an update will fix this because it's super annoying.
     
  13. quantum003 macrumors 6502a

    quantum003

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Location:
    Superposition
    #13
    I heard these issues are caused by DHCP problems... the iPad is assigned an IP address by your router, but when the router eventually unassigns the IP due to lack of activity, the iPad refuses to surrender it or accept a new IP address when you attempt to access the network again. This would definitely be a software issue that Apple will need to patch.
     
  14. JimKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #14
    I haave had mine since launch day

    Zero issues.

    You do the math.

    Airport Router.
     
  15. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #15
    So when those who have issues with the WIFI connection while out and about, should direct the local establishment to change their hardware to accommodate iPad?

    Just curious here...
     
  16. quantum003 macrumors 6502a

    quantum003

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Location:
    Superposition
    #16
    Same. ;) :apple:
     
  17. timotheezz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #17

    Here's some math.

    Me: 16GB WiFi iPad -- I have WiFi issues.
    Roommate: 64GB WiFi iPad -- No WiFi issues.

    Bonus: We connect to the same router.

    Your suggestion is that those who have WiFi issues must buy an Apple router? Ridiculous.
     
  18. fishepa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #18
    I have zero wireless issues.

    Charter cable internet

    Linksys WRT160n with DD-WRT Firmware - $30
     
  19. Gvfjr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #19
    Joe, I experience the same issue as you have.When waking from sleep I have to manually click on settings wifi and click my router to gain connectivity but I don't have to enter my wpa2 key.Slightly annoying but hopefully there will be a fix soon.I have a D-link dir-655 router(supplied info for any other members with the same router)
     
  20. nolesfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #20
    Keep taking or sending your iPad back until you get a perfect one. Believe me, I am on number three and after awhile they get sick of hearing from you. Be a pain in there a** until you get this resolved, it's your hard earned money that keeps them in business.
     
  21. rickeames macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #21
    My wife and I each of the 64GB WiFi iPads, and we get a ton of dropoffs and weak signal issues in our house where the iPhones and MacBooks do not.

    This is with the NetGear WNDR3700 router with the latest firmware. It happens regardless of 5GHz or 2.8. So far, I think wireless blows on the iPad.
     
  22. Joe826 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #22
    Yep, this is it exactly. I've tried resetting everything in my house--router, modem, iPad, kitchen appliances..
     
  23. jarvijarv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #23
    I just purchased the AirPort Extreme to hook up with my Verizon DSL. The connection is great, but the signal may vary as I go farther away in the house.
    I use to get the dropped signal and have to retype the Wi-fi WEP password when just using the Verizon DSL Wi-fi. But now with the AirPort Extreme WPA2 Security password, other members in my family can go Wi-fi without the password. Just remember to put them on a 'guest' network you can create in AirPort Extreme.
     
  24. tommh44 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #24
    I am convinced that the WiFi problem is a software or hardware problem in the iPad. I use my iPad on several different networks and I have the same problem on each one. My iPhone works perfectly on each one.
    I have a 16Gb first day iPad. If it goes to sleep, it may or may not be connected to the network when awakened. It may show connection but not work unless the WiFi is turned of and back on.
    Sometimes when within 6 feet of a router, the signal will drop from all bars to just one bar without anything moving or sleeping........
    I think that somehow it is getting confused about which wifi antenna and "radio" to use and reconnects to the wrong one.
     
  25. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #25
    Wouldn't this kind of signal that perhaps its not the ipad that's the problem?
     

Share This Page