WiFi issues when logging in

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by GigabitEthernet, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. GigabitEthernet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Whenever I login to Mavericks, I get no IP address on my MacBook Pro Retina.

    The only fix is to turn off WiFi and then turn it on again, which fixes the issue.

    No other Macs in my household experience this issue, neither do any other devices, which leads me to believe it is a Mavericks issue.

    Is this a well-known issue? Is there a fix?
     
  2. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #2
    No guarantees, but this does help in some instances:

    Start up in Safe Mode

    Delete the /Library/Preferences/SystemPreferences/ folder (the entire folder)

    Reboot normally, sign back in to your wifi (all networks will have been forgotten, set up from scratch)
     
  3. bobdamnit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    #3
    I had this problem when I updated to 10.9.2. What fixed it for me was opening System Preferences>Network and deleting the profile for Wifi. Reboot real quick and re-add a profile for Wifi.
     
  4. GigabitEthernet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I'm afraid that didn't help :(.
     
  5. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #5
    Next step is to delete your network's data in Keychains.

    Turn off Wifi on the Mac.

    Open Keychains (Applications / Utilities).
    Search for “Airport network password”, locate and select the name of your wifi network (they might be multiple entries), delete them all (right click, "delete").

    Quit Keychains, reboot the Mac, turn on Wifi, join your wifi network (password needed !).

    (did you actually the delete the content of : HD/Library/Preferences/System Configuration ?
    If no, you would need to delete some .plist files there)
     

Share This Page