wifi not working on my new imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Dronomophone, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. Dronomophone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #1
    got my new high end 21.5" imac this morning. only had about five minutes with it because i had to run to work. So the wifi isn't working. My network and others show up and it accepts my password. When it tries to connect, I get that symbol with the "!" in it. I was able to connect once I hard wired into the ethernet port. I'm mostly posting this to let people know about a possible issue with the new imacs. I'm guessing I'll have to take it in, unless someone knows an answer for it. Are there any software updates or anything that might fix this? Haven't checked that yet.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Restart the router, restart the machine, reboot the modem.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Have you reseted modem and router? Have you run network diagnostic? It's found in Sys Prefs > Network > AirPort > Helper (or something like that)
     
  4. Dronomophone thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #4
    i ran the network diagnositc and it told me to reset the router, which i did but i knew it wasn't that. the wifi worked on my iphone. i'll try to reset the computer when i get home.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Reset the router anyway. It may have some issues with connecting to iMac or something. I've had the same issue like million times, my iMac works and my PC doesn't or vice versa. Usually the reset fixes it
     
  6. Dronomophone thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
  7. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    This won't be a widespread problem. It's possible you have a faulty airport card.

    Try reinstalling os x first, if that doesn't help then just return it for an exchange.
     

Share This Page