Wifi on iPhone still uses data?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by chanhopper, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. chanhopper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys, my gf just got an iPhone 4 with the 200mb plan, and today she noticed that she has been using data, even though her phone has been on wifi the whole time. Do you guys know why this is happening? My understanding is that you shouldn't be using any data if your on wifi.

    Thanks!
     
  2. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2
    if you're on wifi properly, it shouldn't be using the data plan, unless you're on public wifi like at starbucks and you have a limit on public wifi.
     
  3. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #3
    It sounds like she might have taken it away from a wifi hotspot (even just in her pocket going out somewhere).
     
  4. grantsdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #4
    Is it using a ton of data on the network? Or just small amounts? If its a lot, there may be a problem with the phone/settings. May need to do a reset.

    It could also be a problem with the Wi-Fi network she's using, like for some reason its not actually connected but it says she is.
     
  5. mad-dog-one macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #5
    Sounds like your gf has been visiting some places she isn't telling you about. This could be the beginning of the end.
     
  6. chanhopper thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #6
    Hey guys, thanks for the responses, actually she's been using her home network, although her network at home is a little iffy at times. I mean maybe that is the reason but I can't really be sure unless I saw the phone for myself.

    I know it shouldn't use data since I used wifi all the time on my 1st gen iPhone.

    It could be her network at home, but that I would need to ask her about. Thanks for the advice!

    Edit: also it's a small amount of data, like we're talking about like a mb of received and maybe a little more of sent. It's not like a huge deal atm but it's the principle of the thing
     
  7. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #7
    Unless she has been 100% of the time in the house and with her phone on wifi, there'll always be some usage. Sounds like the phone has just been checking for mail when she's not in.
     
  8. brdwygurl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #8
    A couple of people have noticed this - I did when I was on the 200 plan and was trying to pay close attention to my usage. Even after a couple of days at home on wifi I had a small amount of usage. Not sure why, if it's a background app that only sends cellular data, or something with att server.

    I found that if you turn off cellular data in the settings it stops it. Try that and see if that works
     
  9. Komiksulo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario
    #9
    Texting will always go over the cellular network, even when WiFi is available, but it's sent as a different protocol and is not counted as part of data. I'm not sure about MMS though. Things like voicemail messages will use cellular data though.
     
  10. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
    push notifications will use wifi if its available...
     
  11. Komiksulo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario
    #11
    I wish visual voicemail messages did. Sucks when you've got a dodgy cell signal but lots of wifi.
     
  12. Bandolier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #12
    Damned simple solution. Settings, turn cell data off.
     
  13. mgamber macrumors 6502a

    mgamber

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    1966
    #13
    Never mind the bollocks, here's a real answer: Not all data goes over wifi. Last time I checked, MMS still went over cellular data regardless of your wifi settings and certain diagnostic data goes over the cell connection, also. I'd imagine there are additional sources but you get the idea, I'm sure. You might note that there is a "Cellular Data" switch under Settings->General->Network. Turn that off and see what happens.
     

Share This Page