Wifi only: require data plan?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Eldiablojoe, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. Eldiablojoe macrumors 6502a

    Eldiablojoe

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Location:
    West Koast
    #1
    If I replace my Wifi + 3G with a Wifi-only iPad, do I still need a data plan from AT&T?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Cutwolf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #2
    No, why would you?
     
  3. nStyle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
  4. zinka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #4
    This thread really makes me wonder.
     
  5. Imsuperjp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
  6. M87 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
  7. Eric8199 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #7
    Are you one of my parents? They continued to pay for their AOL e-mail for a year after AOL became free.
     
  8. Davichi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #8
    Yes, you have to pay activation fee and it costs 35 dollars.

    You have to have a debit card. No cash and no credit card allowed.

    AT&T will be charging 35 dollars a month for your wi-fi plan.

    I hope this helps.
     
  9. Cutwolf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #9
    Include a JK, lest he takes you seriously.
     
  10. Davichi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #10
    Oops sorry. AT&T will charge 36 dollars for an activation fee not 35 dollars. My mistake.
     
  11. faustfire macrumors 6502a

    faustfire

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I have some ocean front property you may be interested in...
     
  12. mdlooker macrumors 65816

    mdlooker

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #12
    roflmao...clowns!!
     
  13. brudog68 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    TN USA
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Praise be the day some of you ask a question on a topic you are confused about.

    To the original poster... No you would not need a data plan at that point, it would be irrelevant. You would then just be able to access the Internet when you were in range of a wireless/wifi signal.
     
  14. Davichi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #14
    Okay, enough with sarcasm.
    In order to pay for AT&T 3g plan, you need have a device that has AT&T 3G radio built in. Wi-fi model doesn't' have that built in. So, AT&T cannot charge you.
    It can be upgraded later though. You just have to send it back to apple at an extra cost. Just like how Motorola Xoom has 3G built in and can be shipped out for 4G upgrade.

    I hope this helps.
     
  15. jealousguy86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #15
    dude..
    if you know how to make a thread on a web forum but don't know the answer to your OP question...

    sometimes man..i just don't know how people make it through the day.
     
  16. zinka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #16
    Actually, you need to pay for a Verizon plan.
     
  17. r2fa3l macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    ..........:eek: yes
    just send the sim card to my address.
     
  18. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #18
    Apple offers no such upgrade plan...
     
  19. maclook macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #19
    I'm an authorized Apple iPad 4G upgrader. If you want to bypass the Apple tax, I can PM you my address so you know where to send your brand new iPad 2.
     
  20. Eldiablojoe thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Eldiablojoe

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Location:
    West Koast
    #20
    Will you guys please PM me your email addresses so I can paypal you my upgrade fees? Thank you. You can expect your incoming paypals post haste.
     
  21. Davichi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #21
    Yea.. but I am authorized apple 5G upgrader and I can make iPad's screen to 3D.
    Thanks for your offer.
     
  22. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #22
    Baptism by fire. :p
     

Share This Page