Wifi overseas

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PSUstoekl, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. PSUstoekl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have a first-gen MacBook with the 802.11a/b/g card installed and working wonderfully, and was curious as to how it would work overseas. I plan on going on a trip to England and France in the coming weeks, and was wondering if I could take it overseas without running into any trouble.

    Thanks in advance!:)
     
  2. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #2
    You will have no trouble at all. Have fun.

    Does your username refer to Penn State? If so, Go Lions!

    Class of '98
     
  3. Maui macrumors 6502a

    Maui

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #3
    I travel extensively in my job and have used my b/g Thinkpad in probably 25 countries. Never had a problem. Access can be expensive, so do some planning in advance to find free sites. You can always default to Starbucks if you have to. Some hotspots require you to pay using your cellphone account via a text message, although that seems to be more common in Asia as opposed to Europe.
     
  4. Arne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    No, don't worry, you will face no problems. We, over here, use the exactly same hardware and configuration for wireless lan. have fun on your trip!
     
  5. PSUstoekl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #5
    Great! Looking forward to it, though I'm not quite looking forward to those excessive charges, which I've heard horror stories about. Apparently a lot of libraries and modest cafés allow you to surf for free, and I'll be staying with a friend who has wifi in his apartment.

    Some places though I'm sure, forget about it.

    slu- yes, it does! I will be a sophomore next year, in the new IST program they set up the year after you graduated. Tons of fun. Can't wait for football season this year... egads
     
  6. silencerider151 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #6
    PSU IST aye? You at main campus?

    /also in psu ist.
    //also going to be a sophomore.
     

Share This Page