WiFi problem after upgrading to 10.9.5

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by expat42451, Sep 18, 2014.

  1. expat42451 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    where my backpack is
    #1
    Upgraded to 10.9.5 yesterday. Currently in a hotel in Ecuador. Before was able to connect no problems. Now, on the WEP wifi hotspots the computer will connect to the wifi appliance but I get the exclamation point in the icon and the error message "no internet connection". When looking at /System Preferences/Network/Wifi/Advanced/TCPIP I find that the computer has a self assigned IP address, no router address and no network connectivity.
    OS 10.9.5 MacPro 8.1 with 8GB RAM

    Any help or suggestions appreciated/


    Expat
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
  3. expat42451, Sep 20, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2014

    expat42451 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    where my backpack is
    #3
    satcomer

    Didn't work. went through all steps. Please note in 10.9.5--

    com.apple.internetconfig.plist

    and

    com.apple.internetconfigpriv.plist

    are in /Users/"username"/Library/Preferences, not in /"drive name"/Library, at least on this machine. I was able to connect to the wifi appliance on my floor with a network cable no prob. However when connecting with WiFi, the device will not assign an IP address, the computer connects and self assigns a wifi address and won't connect to the internet. I may hack the appliance next. I did not say that. Tired of having to go to the lobby for internet.

    Expat
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    When you go into System Preferences->Network pane,Advanced button delete all the previous networks in the TCP/IP mini-Tab. Also go into /Applications/Utilities/Keychain Access.app and delete the networks saved passwords. Then try to reconnect to see if that helps.
     
  5. expat42451 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    where my backpack is
    #5
    satcomer

    Thanks for the continuing interest. Have already done that and no joy. However-- and I cam over here to update the thread- I am down the street from the hotel in a little place that sells good coffee.....and connected no problem. So at this point I am of the opinion that its not the HW or SW but the hotel.

    That router is right outside my door.....sure tempted to push the reset button.......I didn't say that.

    Expat

    Regards from the wilds of Ecuador- right on the edge of the rainforest. there is fiber in the jungle...... but it was installed 10,000 years ago to link Teoteohuican to Puma Punku.
     
  6. expat42451 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    where my backpack is
    #6
    Here is something I ve never seen before. Got back to the hotel from the coffee shop and for why not I deleted the 3 internet connections for the hotel. Then went to the front desk and asked again for the password. WEP so the password is one letter and three numbers. I had everything correct except that the letter had to be a small letter rather than a capitol letter. I put it in and it worked. For the hell of it I put in the capitol letter again and the machine connected to the wifi just fine but no DHCP provisioning i.e. self assigned IP address and no internet connectivity. So I deleted the account again and tried a different combination of letters and numbers and the machine would not connect to the wifi. Go figure. Never have seen this before. So partially my error-- when I got here 3 nights ago I was wiped out after a day on the road from Quito-

    Additionally after deleting the accounts from /Settings/Network/Wifi/TCPIP/Advanced I checked Keychain and there were no internet account i.e. Wifi passwords in Keychain. So either my removing them from /Network &c removed them or they might be located elsewhere in 10.9.5.....hopefully sharing this will be a little light shined into a corner somewhere not just my error.

    Expat
     
  7. NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #7
    Some WEP routers allowed A-Za-z0-9, so, can see this happening.
     
  8. expat42451 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    where my backpack is
    #8
    I did not know this was possible. Thanks very much for the information.

    Expat
     

Share This Page