Wifi Problem (Mid-2011)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by thetexan, May 18, 2011.

  1. thetexan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #1
    For whatever reason the Wifi on my brand new iMac will not stay connected, and the only way to reconnect is to turn off the airport and turn it back on. The airport will say it's connected, but I can't ping anything or access the router's admin page. I was able to reproduce this with three different routers.

    It seems to disconnect when the display goes to sleep and does not reconnect. I don't have this problem with any other wireless device on my network.

    Ideas?
     
  2. vhp3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #2
    I am having the same thing happen over here. I just picked up mine yesterday. I read in the apple support forums of people experiencing the same thing. Some of the folks tried to duplicate the problem in bootcamp but were unsuccessful. So hopefully it's a driver issue.
     
  3. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #3
    It very well could be the DNS settings your ISP is using. Mac's tend to be more sensitive to this than others. If you are not familiar with DNS MacWorld wrote an article about it and how to troubleshoot it. The article's link is:

    http://www.macworld.com/article/146064/2010/02/troubleshootdns.html?t=234

    You can change your DNS setting by:

    1. System preferences
    2. Network
    3. Click Advanced
    4. Click DNS tab
    5. Click + sign
    6. Add 208.67.222.222
    7. Click + sign
    8. Add 208.67.220.220
    9. Click OK.
    10. Exit System Preferences
    11. Try out your iMac and report what happened.
     
  4. Blue Jakester, May 18, 2011
    Last edited: May 18, 2011

    Blue Jakester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #4
    A lot of people are having the same problem with mid 2011 iMac and AirPort connections freezing, including me. Here is a lengthy thread at the Apple Support Forums discussing it: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3042800?start=0&tstart=0

    I doubt it is DNS. I run my own DNS server on my LAN (a Linux machine), and only when the lookup is not cached does it forward the request to my ISP.

    At our house we have 3 additional Macs, 3 iPads, 2 Windows laptops, 1 iPod Touch, a Wii, Xbox, and Apple TV2 all on the home WiFi router (6 mos old Airport Extreme dual band). None of the other devices have this AirPort freezing issue. Only my new iMac 27".

    The issue is definitely with the iMac. I don't know if it is hardware or software, but I suspect it is software. I have an appointment to take my iMac into the Apple Store on Saturday. If the issue happens again after that I'm returning the iMac to Apple for a full refund. Once Apple corrects the AirPort issue I'll consider buying another iMac ... maybe.
     
  5. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #5
    So here is an example of someone that doesn't even try the suggested fix. I've seen wi-fi connectivity issues for years, most can be fixed with some skilled troubleshooting. Don't like my solution then don't use it, but don't assume it won't work.
     
  6. vhp3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #6
    It's definitely not a DNS issue. This lost connectivity also includes my local hosts. I am running a continuous ping and see lost connectivity to my printer.

    **continuous ping using ip address**
     
  7. thetexan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #7
    It is not a DNS issue, as I'm unable to ping anything else using IP address or even access the router's homepage. It's an iMac problem so I guess I'll return it to the store as I require the ability to access my computer remotely and it just doesn't work.
     
  8. Blue Jakester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #8
    Wow! :eek:

    I said "I doubt it is DNS." Please, don't be so defensive. We are all interested in a solution here and presenting our opinions. If I had a fix for the problem I would apply it to my iMac and then share it with the world.
     
  9. Blue Jakester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #9
    My AirPort connection froze again, about an hour ago. :(
     
  10. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #10
    Did you try the settings provided? If you try them and they don't work simply remove them.
     
  11. greatestash macrumors member

    greatestash

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #11
    I have brand new iMac 27" (mid-2011) also but never had any issue with wifi; just now i was connected to my work VPN for more than 3 hours without dropping any connection.

    if you are experiencing wifi issue, try deleting SystemConfiguration folder found under /Library/Preferences and reboot.
     
  12. Blue Jakester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #12
    Good to read you are not having the problem because it's a real bummer. :eek:

    Thanks for the suggestion; AppleCare had me do exactly that last weekend when I made the initial call for help to them. When the AirPort connection froze again a couple of days later and on my second call to AppleCare, they didn't bother with deleting the .prefs, just setup the Apple Store appointment.

    When my AirPort connect dropped today it was a bit different than in the past. This time the display brightness was up to about 90% (I had it around 15%) and Sys Prefs > Network > AirPort showed yellow "on but not connected." I've never had the brightness jump like that before ... very strange.

    The last time the AirPort connection froze, the status was green showing connected (but of course no network traffic would flow in our out).

    After the techs at the Apple Store work on the iMac I'll report back here on the outcome. I'm hoping for good news ... I don't like the thought of having to return this beautiful machine for a full refund :(
     
  13. Blue Jakester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #13
    There may be hope ... for me at least.

    I received an email from an Apple Engineer requesting all sort of data and information. I won't be able to send it to him until tonight so it may be a while before I hear anything back, but I'll post here whenever I do.
     
  14. Blue Jakester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #14
    In case anyone is following this thread, I have been making updates to the Apple Discussions thread here: https://discussions.apple.com/message/15238174#15238174

    I've been emailing logs and other details back and forth with an Apple Engineer who is investigating the issue. I've postponed hauling the iMac into the Apple Store at the mall for now (ugh). My hunch is the problem is software and will see if it can be resolved with the engineer.
     
  15. Csory macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #15
    Just a fairly long shot : did you try to disable the 5GHz connectivity on the router? My new 27" can't reliably connect and restraining my wifi network to 2.4GHz immediately and consistently fixed the problem (now waiting for a firmware update because the entire network is down to .a/b/g because of my picky new iMac...)
     
  16. Blue Jakester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #16
    I haven't tried that yet but will keep it in mind for the next time I have a freeze-up on the network connection. Thanks!
     

Share This Page