Wifi range less after 3.0 on iPhone 3g

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by toddbee, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. toddbee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #1
    Is everyone noticing this? I am unable to get any signal from wifi in places where I used to get it. My iPod touch gets full bars and the iPhone won't even see a signal. Did they turn down the strength? This really sucks. Seems like a serious problem.
     
  2. thewierdone2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    #2
    I have this problem too. Anyone else? Suggestions?
     
  3. SolRayz macrumors 6502a

    SolRayz

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #3
    Same here...I used to connect with fuul bars all over my house, but not anymore. Sometimes i can stand directly in front of my router and it still hangs at one bar for awhile. Apple fubar'd something.
     
  4. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    Is the wi-fi just not connecting? or are you getting 2 bars when before you have full bars?

    If your able to connect I would try doing a reset of the network settings.

    If it is not connecting at all check under settings>general>about and see if there is a wi-fi address. If there is not it is a hardware issue and will need to be replaced.
     
  5. Lord Sandwich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #5
    I've noticed the same however speed and latency appear to be unaffected.
     
  6. Asmonica macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #6
    I can definately confirm that the wifi doesn't show the same signals I got before going to 3.0- my router has not moved and I'm actually writing this on my ipodtouch 2g in the exact spot where my 3g doesn't show either of the 2 signals I always get here. But funny enough, if I leave my room and connect to the network, I can come back to this spot and I will remain connected with one bar, I can even go further from the router where I have never picked a signal up and it will stay connected. So it looks like it just doesn't recognize the signal if you're too far, but once the connection is made, then the range is improved. I figured I woulsld use wifinder app to jog the iPhones wifi, but I just found that the app no longer works In 3.0. I for some reason think they made it less sensitive for some reason that would make them more money like forcing data plans because it doesn't make any sense...
     
  7. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Same problem here. I'm at home in the room next to where the router and Airport are and my phone can't seem to make up its mind about the signal stength. It goes from one to full, then back. Hmmmmm
     
  8. angrywaiter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #8
    Yeah I noticed this.

    On my 3G in the office pre 3.0 I could pick up the nearby wireless hotspot. Now my 3G isn't picking up the signal.

    Same desk. Same location. Same hardware.

    Apple defintely turned up the need for stronger signal in order to pick up Wi-fi.
     
  9. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #9
    I agree with you all

    My 3G Wifi has gone down a bit after 3.0

    Glad I am not the only one who noticed this
     
  10. Asmonica macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #10
    After a lot of usage, I can for sure say that the wifi works better after 3.0! The only thing is, I have to go out into the hall to connect, but as long as my phone doesn't go to sleep, I have yet to drop the signal(whch pre 3.0 happened at least every 5 minutes) so I'm actually pretty happy they made it better. Stillpissed though that there

    is mo more wifinder and no replacement
     

Share This Page